Mindy's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Wonderful flavor without being too overwhelming. Rather than a sweet gherkin, I used chopped dill pickles. It is also good with tuna & peas as well as chopped ham. My family and guests love this salad. I have
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This is the best salad I've ever had. We enjoyed this at a Memorial Day cook-out and it was the hit of the meal! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Got rave reviews for this at DH's 40th bday Luau and tons of requests for recipe. It was a large, eclectic crowd but this salad was beloved. Followed recipe except used 1 hard-boiled egg instead of three and added 1/4 cup frozen peas (rinsed in cold water) and 1/4 cup diced medium cheddar cheese. YUM! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I don't usually like macaroni salad, but made this as part of an offering for a party. This is REALLY good!! I practically ate 1/2 the bowl myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Great the following day!!!!! The only changes I made were no eggs (we were out) and red bell pepper instead of pimientos. DH is still asking for more! Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Looks like I'm rating my own recipe ... but I just want everyone to know that this dressing also works perfectly with potatoes for potato salad! I just made it yesterday and it tastes great. I took 4 russet potatoes, peeled & diced, boiled them in salted water just until they gave when pierced with a fork, then drained them and let them cool before following with the rest of the recipe. Even though it was good slightly warm, I think it tastes best when you let the flavors marry overnight before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is a great mac salad. Family loved it. I did reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup. 2 days later, I took the author's advice and used the dressing for a potato salad. That was delicious too, again reducing the sugar. This is a keeper. Thank you Timsgal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
the family loved it and it was easy to make instead of pickle and pimento i used sweet relish to taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martins Ferry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This reminded me of salads at a church potluck. Exactly what I was looking for. Only change was leaving out the celery. Thanks for the trip down memory lane. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
OMG!! Best macaroni salad I've ever tasted! I used medium shell pasta for the macaroni, Hellman's mayonnaise for the dressing, and I skipped the pimiento (didn't have any). I also reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup and added 1/2 teaspoon black pepper. This salad is amazing!! It came out very soupy at first, but after it chilled a while, it thickened up perfectly. I rinsed the noodles in warm water instead of cold, which helps them absorb the dressing better. Thanks for the great recipe, Timsgal. It's a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States