Mindy's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Wonderful flavor without being too overwhelming. Rather than a sweet gherkin, I used chopped dill pickles. It is also good with tuna & peas as well as chopped ham. My family and guests love this salad. I have
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This is the best salad I've ever had. We enjoyed this at a Memorial Day cook-out and it was the hit of the meal! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Looks like I'm rating my own recipe ... but I just want everyone to know that this dressing also works perfectly with potatoes for potato salad! I just made it yesterday and it tastes great. I took 4 russet potatoes, peeled & diced, boiled them in salted water just until they gave when pierced with a fork, then drained them and let them cool before following with the rest of the recipe. Even though it was good slightly warm, I think it tastes best when you let the flavors marry overnight before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This was a good recipe, but I thought a little on the sweet side. Maybe I used too much sweet pickle. Will definitely try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe exact, using Hellman's mayonnaise instead of salad dressing (which I assume means Miracle Whip, which none of us like) and I added fresh ground pepper to taste. I was the only one who did not like this salad. For me, it was just too sweet. My husband and two boys absolutely loved it. The only thing my family did say is that it needed more pickles (my oldest boy) and a little more seasoning (husband). I'll make this again, for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I needed to use less vinegar and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Very good. I didn't use pimentos and I also used dill instead of sweet pickles in this salad. I think sweet would have been just as good though, but I just used what I had on hand. I also added some sweet peas which added a lot I think. All in all a pretty good mac salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsica, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Geddes, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I liked this recipe. The dressing was just a little too sweet for my kids but I thought it was very good. I left out the pimentos and used a dill pickle chopped up for the sweet gherkin. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This recipe is great! I didn't add as much sugar and vinegar, and I used spicy mustard. It turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is a great mac salad. Family loved it. I did reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup. 2 days later, I took the author's advice and used the dressing for a potato salad. That was delicious too, again reducing the sugar. This is a keeper. Thank you Timsgal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States