Mindy's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I tried this because I liked idea of adding sweet pickle to macaroni salad. But the dressing was a little too sweet and vinegary for my taste, and it kind of drowned out the flavor of the pickle. I may try it again with less vinegar and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by godess6042

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is a great mac salad. Family loved it. I did reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup. 2 days later, I took the author's advice and used the dressing for a potato salad. That was delicious too, again reducing the sugar. This is a keeper. Thank you Timsgal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
OMG!! Best macaroni salad I've ever tasted! I used medium shell pasta for the macaroni, Hellman's mayonnaise for the dressing, and I skipped the pimiento (didn't have any). I also reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup and added 1/2 teaspoon black pepper. This salad is amazing!! It came out very soupy at first, but after it chilled a while, it thickened up perfectly. I rinsed the noodles in warm water instead of cold, which helps them absorb the dressing better. Thanks for the great recipe, Timsgal. It's a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
It was good but I don't like onion in it.and It would be better if I used more celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This reminded me of salads at a church potluck. Exactly what I was looking for. Only change was leaving out the celery. Thanks for the trip down memory lane. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Got rave reviews for this at DH's 40th bday Luau and tons of requests for recipe. It was a large, eclectic crowd but this salad was beloved. Followed recipe except used 1 hard-boiled egg instead of three and added 1/4 cup frozen peas (rinsed in cold water) and 1/4 cup diced medium cheddar cheese. YUM! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This recipe is great! I didn't add as much sugar and vinegar, and I used spicy mustard. It turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe exact, using Hellman's mayonnaise instead of salad dressing (which I assume means Miracle Whip, which none of us like) and I added fresh ground pepper to taste. I was the only one who did not like this salad. For me, it was just too sweet. My husband and two boys absolutely loved it. The only thing my family did say is that it needed more pickles (my oldest boy) and a little more seasoning (husband). I'll make this again, for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I needed to use less vinegar and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Great the following day!!!!! The only changes I made were no eggs (we were out) and red bell pepper instead of pimientos. DH is still asking for more! Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States