Mincemeat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe, as it is I'm sure, but I did not have enough mincemeat.(1 1/4 cups) I can't give it 5 stars because I had to add on to that 2nd cup-- which was dates and pumpkin puree. I also added 1T brandy,1 teasp each pumpkin spice and allspice..and some chopped walnuts - I baked it in 9x5 loaf pan 1 hour and it came out perfect! It tastes great too- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
this cake is delicious but i made a few changes. add 1/8 tsp each of cinn, nutmeg, clove, ginger OR 1 tsp either mace or allspice. i increased the orange jc to 1/4 cup and baked it in a 9 in square pan lightly sprayed with cooking oil. the finale... top with spiced cream cheese frosting. this is more like a dessert than an bread and is gone in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I decided to give this recipe a try at midnight when i was feeling inspired to bake. This recipe seemed fuss-free and based on the reviews, worth trying out. That is where the 5 stars came in. Anyway, i added the juice of one whole orange, and some previously made candied orange peel, chopped dried homegrown figs, and some chopped candied cherries for color. When i mixed the batter, i felt it could use some more liquid so i added a few splashes of southern Comfort, and 2 tbsps of molasses for color. I also added a pinch each of nutmeg, allspice and ground ginger. I don't know if it makes any difference, but the brand of mincemeat i used was Crosse&Blackwell. I used a ring pan and baked it for 50mins. Came out fantastic. Love the flavors, and texture. Dense but not too much, moist enough without being sticky, and i think it would go doubly great with brandy butter if i wasnt trying to keep the calories low. haha. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
it's ok, It's to sweet for me. I do like the moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I should have gone with my instincts and only used 1 pan for this bread, the 2 loaves came out flat, hardly rose at all, although, the texture was good, quite moist, I only baked them for 45 minutes. I'm also sorry I added the orange zest and juice, it overpowered the mincemeat flavor, milk would have been better. I used Crosse & Blackwell with Rum&Brandy which a friend had given me, I should have used my own"British Recipe"for homemade mincemeat but like to save that for my traditional "mincepies"! I will make the bread again for it is a very simple quick recipe but with the adjustments I mention. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Really good - very moist & sets up great. I have had issues before with pumpkin or banana bread having an uncooked middle, but after this comes out of the oven I let it cool for about 1 1/2 -2 hours and then cut it into slices. Perfect for mincemeat pie lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was a big hit at church coffee hour. I thought there was a little too much orange peel in ii--I actually used clementine peel, which may have been too bitter. Next time, I'll follow the recipe as directed. It's very important to use an all-natural mincemeat in this, since some brands contain preservatives that could give this an off flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This bread is wonderful! I used a jar of Brandy & Rum flavored mincemeat that I had left from the holidays, followed the recipe as written, and was delighted. I'm sure my family will like it-if i let them have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
good recipe! I only added 2 tablespoon of Jamaican rum instead of orange and the result was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is a good idea but the suggested pan is too big (my loaf came out squat) and the length of baking too long (loaf was dry). Probably a 4 1/2 by 8 1/2 pan would be better, and 55 or even 50 minutes bake time. Maybe adding soaked raisins or a chopped fresh apple would help with the dryness too. As is, I'll use it for snacking instead of giving it as a present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States