Mincemeat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe, as it is I'm sure, but I did not have enough mincemeat.(1 1/4 cups) I can't give it 5 stars because I had to add on to that 2nd cup-- which was dates and pumpkin puree. I also added 1T brandy,1 teasp each pumpkin spice and allspice..and some chopped walnuts - I baked it in 9x5 loaf pan 1 hour and it came out perfect! It tastes great too- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
this cake is delicious but i made a few changes. add 1/8 tsp each of cinn, nutmeg, clove, ginger OR 1 tsp either mace or allspice. i increased the orange jc to 1/4 cup and baked it in a 9 in square pan lightly sprayed with cooking oil. the finale... top with spiced cream cheese frosting. this is more like a dessert than an bread and is gone in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I decided to give this recipe a try at midnight when i was feeling inspired to bake. This recipe seemed fuss-free and based on the reviews, worth trying out. That is where the 5 stars came in. Anyway, i added the juice of one whole orange, and some previously made candied orange peel, chopped dried homegrown figs, and some chopped candied cherries for color. When i mixed the batter, i felt it could use some more liquid so i added a few splashes of southern Comfort, and 2 tbsps of molasses for color. I also added a pinch each of nutmeg, allspice and ground ginger. I don't know if it makes any difference, but the brand of mincemeat i used was Crosse&Blackwell. I used a ring pan and baked it for 50mins. Came out fantastic. Love the flavors, and texture. Dense but not too much, moist enough without being sticky, and i think it would go doubly great with brandy butter if i wasnt trying to keep the calories low. haha. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
it's ok, It's to sweet for me. I do like the moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I should have gone with my instincts and only used 1 pan for this bread, the 2 loaves came out flat, hardly rose at all, although, the texture was good, quite moist, I only baked them for 45 minutes. I'm also sorry I added the orange zest and juice, it overpowered the mincemeat flavor, milk would have been better. I used Crosse & Blackwell with Rum&Brandy which a friend had given me, I should have used my own"British Recipe"for homemade mincemeat but like to save that for my traditional "mincepies"! I will make the bread again for it is a very simple quick recipe but with the adjustments I mention. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Really good - very moist & sets up great. I have had issues before with pumpkin or banana bread having an uncooked middle, but after this comes out of the oven I let it cool for about 1 1/2 -2 hours and then cut it into slices. Perfect for mincemeat pie lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was a big hit at church coffee hour. I thought there was a little too much orange peel in ii--I actually used clementine peel, which may have been too bitter. Next time, I'll follow the recipe as directed. It's very important to use an all-natural mincemeat in this, since some brands contain preservatives that could give this an off flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This bread is wonderful! I used a jar of Brandy & Rum flavored mincemeat that I had left from the holidays, followed the recipe as written, and was delighted. I'm sure my family will like it-if i let them have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
good recipe! I only added 2 tablespoon of Jamaican rum instead of orange and the result was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is a good idea but the suggested pan is too big (my loaf came out squat) and the length of baking too long (loaf was dry). Probably a 4 1/2 by 8 1/2 pan would be better, and 55 or even 50 minutes bake time. Maybe adding soaked raisins or a chopped fresh apple would help with the dryness too. As is, I'll use it for snacking instead of giving it as a present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States