Mincemeat Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Wonderful for the Holidays. May I suggest the following additions.. 1/2 tsp cinnamon, ginger,nutmeg,cloves, 1cup chopped walnuts, increase vanilla to 1tsp, & 2 1/2 tsp milk... I tried this version & can't stop eating them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Thanks Rosina. These are GREAT and I have made them MANY times...always a success. I also use different preserves, apricot, orange. Try one of your favorites. I would hesitate using grape since it may be too runny. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
A wonderful alternative to date squares! Absolutely DO NOT add the additional iced topping as suggested!! These mincemeat goodies are plenty sweet. Adding the extra icing would just ruin them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
My wife and I find this to be an outstanding recipe. We used my mother-in-laws pint gift jar of mincemeat that was spicy enough (no need to add spices as suggested by another reviewer). Zest from an orange was a nice complement. DO NOT MAKE CONFECTION topping until you taste the sweetness. We will cut pack on a third of the sugar which ruins an otherwise excellent treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
These are AMAZING. I made them for a recent buffet feast we had at our home and EVERYONE loved them. I ended up having to print out copies of this recipe. I left off the frosting too as they are already just super sweet and pretty by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VoodooKitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Macclesfield, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
These are great - just like date squares only I don't like dates much so mincemeat is a nice change. The best part is the yummy oatmeal base and top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This is a delicious recipe. As suggested by others, I did not add the icing. The bars are plenty sweet without it. I may add some walnuts next time. These freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
These are delicious! I didn't have any oranges, so I used a teeny bit of lemon juice. We can't stop eating these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2001
I just love these they sure don't last long in our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Oh, yum! These are really good & buttery. I made them using a homemade mincemeat recipe that I found on this website. It already had orange peel in it so I did not add anymore. I baked them in my Pampered Chef bar pan & probably could have baked them for less time than the recipe called for. They were a little hard around the edges, but still yummy. I think the recipe would also be good with raspberry pie filling & chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States