Mincemeat Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
Really good! Tastes like a bitesized mince pie. Easy to make. Adding ginger frosting instead of orange is a tasty variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2001
I just love these they sure don't last long in our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Wonderful for the Holidays. May I suggest the following additions.. 1/2 tsp cinnamon, ginger,nutmeg,cloves, 1cup chopped walnuts, increase vanilla to 1tsp, & 2 1/2 tsp milk... I tried this version & can't stop eating them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
My wife and I find this to be an outstanding recipe. We used my mother-in-laws pint gift jar of mincemeat that was spicy enough (no need to add spices as suggested by another reviewer). Zest from an orange was a nice complement. DO NOT MAKE CONFECTION topping until you taste the sweetness. We will cut pack on a third of the sugar which ruins an otherwise excellent treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
These are delicious! I didn't have any oranges, so I used a teeny bit of lemon juice. We can't stop eating these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
These are AMAZING. I made them for a recent buffet feast we had at our home and EVERYONE loved them. I ended up having to print out copies of this recipe. I left off the frosting too as they are already just super sweet and pretty by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VoodooKitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Macclesfield, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This is a delicious recipe. As suggested by others, I did not add the icing. The bars are plenty sweet without it. I may add some walnuts next time. These freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Oh, yum! These are really good & buttery. I made them using a homemade mincemeat recipe that I found on this website. It already had orange peel in it so I did not add anymore. I baked them in my Pampered Chef bar pan & probably could have baked them for less time than the recipe called for. They were a little hard around the edges, but still yummy. I think the recipe would also be good with raspberry pie filling & chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Didn't really like it much. Each family member only ate 1/2 when I gave them a small bar of it. I froze it hoping that it might be better after it was frozen. Probably not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Ostrowski-Callen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Not very good--need more filling than recipe calls for. Gluey texure, very greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States