Mincemeat Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is a great recipe for the people who like old fashioned cookies. It was easy to make and tasted great. I took the advice and added the cinnamon, cloves, allspice and vanilla to the batter. You should try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I am just finishing the last mincemeat cookie. Yum!!! These cookies are now my absolute new favorite cookie. They are moist and completely delicious! After they had cooled I iced them with a confectionary sugar icing and that only added to the flavor. What I like best is that the mincemeat is subtle and doesn't overpower the cookie. These will be my new holiday cookie for certain. Thanks for submitting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
i just made a batch, adding 1/2 tsp. each of cinnamon, cloves and allspice. i had to bake them at 400 degrees for 12 minutes as my test cookie burned on the bottom at 425 degrees. i don't even like mincemeat, but i love these cookies! Granny Seussie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stazi
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This recipe is wonderful! I used mincemeat that I made using a recipe from this site for zucchini mincemeat. It had plenty of cloves, allspice, and cinnamon, so I didn't need to "doctor" them up as others did. Perhaps if you're using store bought mincemeat it might be an issue. The cookies were so moist and full of flavor. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stazi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maybee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Very good made them for my dad. Added some cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I LOVE these cookies. They are easy to make, they look pretty, and they are absolutely scrumptious! The perfect cookie! The only change I made was to up the salt from 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. (after reading the prior reviews),
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
As you can see in my picture, I topped each cookie with a pecan half and added a cup of chopped pecans to the dough (because almost everything is better with pecans). I made this recipe for my 83-year-old uncle who was a country butcher (as well as my grandfather). He gave me the family's commercial recipe for authentic mincemeat last year and I wanted him to sample my efforts some of which was frozen. I had a 1# pack of homemade mincemeat in the freezer so that's what I added instead of the 2 c. All in all, I wish I would have added more cinnamon and nutmeg, and maybe salt too as another reviewer suggested because they were a little bland--certainly nowhere near the punch you get from a hot pie after Christmas dinner. I love the texture of the cookies and I'm sure they'll ship well to uncle. Note I made a glaze of confec. sugar and Southern Comfort. I added about 1/4 cup of SoCo to the dough as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great Recipe! Tweeked it a bit. I added 1/2 teaspoon each of cloves, cinnamin, and allspice. I also added walnuts and peacans. My family says they don't like mincemeat but they ate these because they taste alot like gingerbread cookies. They stay moist and cake like. Reduce heat to about 410 if possilbe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
A nice chewy tasty cookie. After making the first 2 doz, found that they were a little bland. Spicing it up with a bit of cloves/allspice or cinnamon would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Wonderful. My husband and I devoured these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States