Minced Beef with Black-Eyed Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I make this wonderful dish each time I have leftover roast beef. In fact, I purposely make to much roast so that we can have this dish! The only way I deviate from this recipe, is to double the ingredients, otherwise, I follow the directions to a “T.” Substitutions and deletions just aren’t right. I serve it atop boiled jasmine rice and my sides are Asma’s choice, warm pitas, raita, and finely sliced onions laced with lemon juice. This dish is F A N T A S T I C!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by By the Lake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Alabama, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This is good, i used lean ground beef and 1 clove minced garlic. i omitted the cilantro and chopped pepper. Served over rice. Thanks Asma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I agree with many of the other reviewers that the ingredient need to be increase especially the spices. What i find a little strange is that the spices are added to the meat and water when in fact in Indian cooking spices a fried briefly to release their flavours. I therefore added them to the onions just before adding the meat which i also fried briefly. All in all this is a simple, quick and tasty meal. I served it with a little Basmati Rice, Naan bread, Lettuce with a spoon of Raita on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made this with ground beef. I'm giving it three stars because, made as written, I would think this would be an incredibly bland dish. I added the seasonings to personal taste, and it turned out great. Served over basmati rice. Thanks, Asma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
This was absolutely delicious. It tasted even better than it smelled whilst cooking! I've even made it with turkey mince to great results. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
This recipe is excellent. It tastes delicious and isn't too hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
We need to develop a better name for this recipe because the current title doesn't do it justice. For someone like myself who likes spices (yes, I also increased the amount of spices used) and wants to increase protein intake, this is a wonderful dish. The cumin, the heat of the chili powder and chilies, and the aroma of the garam masala really blend and flavor the beef well. The only reason I didn't give the recipe 5 stars is because this is essentially a bowl of beef. As Asma suggested, warm up some pita bread, make the raita (fyi: for those unfamiliar with Middle Eastern cooking, she means plain yogurt - not vanilla!), etc. I purposely double the dish, so that I can take any leftovers for lunch where I serve the meat on top of lettuce, additional tomatoes and a light vinaigrette (sometimes just additional lemon juice, but usually a bit of oil and vinegar.) Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Very tasty, but a bit too greasy for my taste. I would advocate caution in adding the first 1\4 cup of water. My oil was too hot and we had a very exciting few minutes of hot spitting fat! We will definitely make this again, but would probably only use 1 or 2 tablespoons of oil. Even using lean beef mince a lot of extra oil is generated. We served this with rice, stir fried swiss chard (with garlic and soy sauce) and the Easy Chickpea Curry on site. Great supper - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Being of Indian decent, I thought it was unusual to see these spices in a beef dish (we didn't grow up eating beef in our house for the sake of Hindu family members). So I had to give it a try! Glad I did. The flavors are much more subtle than I'm used to, but I liked the overall result. Very easy dish. I didn't have tomatoes, so tossed in about 1/4 cup picante sauce instead. Also, used very lean ground beef (4% fat) and reduced the amount of oil to 2 TBSP. It would've been too greasy otherwise (but I have noticed that food from Pakistani restaurants is very oily, so that might be a cultural preference). For anyone who can't find the spices in their area, you may order them online from Penzeys.com. I've been using them for years--the quality of spices is excellent, and they can be cheaper than the local grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was really easy to make, I found the lemon and cilantro really added an excellent flavour. Overall quite a good dish, mine was a little dry. We liked it but not loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States