Minced Beef with Black-Eyed Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Good, BUT I doubled the spices and personally still could have used a little more. I also only used 1 tablespoon oil and 93% lean ground beef. 5 tablespoons would've been wayyyy too greasy. Also to save time I used 1/2 can of Rotel tomatoes with green chiles as my local Target didn't have fresh green chiles or tomatoes in stock and I didn't feel like hiking over to the grocery store. ;P Plated over a 1/2 piece of naan and now I have lunch for 4 days :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was good, I liked it. I ,however, am far more heavy handed with the spices and added considerably more(can't say how much I tend to eyeball rather than measure). And I guess I didn't realize until now how much I changed it too. I usually keep Ginger-Garlic Paste and Green Chili Paste on hand so I used that. I use cayenne in place of chili powder always. I ALWAYS have Nigerian Tomato Stew so used that in place of tomato sauce (this is really great for everything, if you haven't tried it-allnigerianrecipes.com-oh and a tip, use less diced onions in a recipe you add it to since the sauteed onions can make it sweeter). Also added spinach. I was out of riata but that would definitely have been very good with this. Possibly may have added mango powder but i couldn't remember. Definitely remember adding coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I actually added the cumin to the oil and onion and fried if off as usual when I make Indian. I only had cumin seeds so they had to be done like this. Also omitted the chilli and cilantro as I had neither in the kitchen; instead I added a good teaspoon of Brown Sugar near the end as I found it a little bitter from the Tumeric. It was very nice - I was only looking to cook the beans and needed a recipe. This works. Not my favorite yet but worth it as all the fiber in this dish is sure to be welcomed also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was really easy to make, I found the lemon and cilantro really added an excellent flavour. Overall quite a good dish, mine was a little dry. We liked it but not loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
really good it takes a long time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Very good!!! And adaptable depending on what you have got on hand. A weekly standard at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nilifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veggie
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Wow, this is a great recipe!! It was easy to make and had tons of flavor. I served it with pita, the raita and lemony onions as suggested... my husband raved about it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Very tasty, but a bit too greasy for my taste. I would advocate caution in adding the first 1\4 cup of water. My oil was too hot and we had a very exciting few minutes of hot spitting fat! We will definitely make this again, but would probably only use 1 or 2 tablespoons of oil. Even using lean beef mince a lot of extra oil is generated. We served this with rice, stir fried swiss chard (with garlic and soy sauce) and the Easy Chickpea Curry on site. Great supper - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Being of Indian decent, I thought it was unusual to see these spices in a beef dish (we didn't grow up eating beef in our house for the sake of Hindu family members). So I had to give it a try! Glad I did. The flavors are much more subtle than I'm used to, but I liked the overall result. Very easy dish. I didn't have tomatoes, so tossed in about 1/4 cup picante sauce instead. Also, used very lean ground beef (4% fat) and reduced the amount of oil to 2 TBSP. It would've been too greasy otherwise (but I have noticed that food from Pakistani restaurants is very oily, so that might be a cultural preference). For anyone who can't find the spices in their area, you may order them online from Penzeys.com. I've been using them for years--the quality of spices is excellent, and they can be cheaper than the local grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Man was this gooood! Unfortunately, my grocery didn't carry exactly what the recipe called for - Garam spice and Black Eyed beans. Had to substitute Garam paste and Fava beans. Nevertheless, the dish was wonderful! I got Nan bread instead of pita and dipped it in the mixture of natural yogurt, salt & pepper, cumin and diced green chile - Wow - what a taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States