Mimi's Zucchini Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I am so glad I tried this recipe. It was delicious and easy to make. The only thing I did different was that I sprinkled the top with an Italian seasoning blend that included parmesan cheese, oregano, basil and garlic. That made the pie look and taste impressive. It looked so good that a coworker asked me, "Where did you buy that quiche?" As you may have guessed, I told her I made it and was very proud to say so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Had a lot of squash from garden so tried mimi's zucchini pie. Husband said it gets 5 stars. Followed recipe exactly let it sit a few minutes before cutting very good especially with fresh zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Here is a variation on this recipe which I have always made, and everyone always loves. (I love the idea of using zucchini and yellow squash and putting tomato slices on top! New additions to my old favorite.) 3 cups grated zucchini, 4 beaten eggs, 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 1/2 cup grated/shredded parmesan, 1 cup Bisquick (baking mix), 2 chopped large onions, salt and pepper. Mix all and put in greased pie dish. Bake at 350 for 1 hour. Serve hot, cold or room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was fantastic! I love squash and zucchini and was excited to find a new way to try them. This recipe did not disappoint. I'm giving it 5 stars because it meets my three requirements of a great recipe--easy to prepare, few ingredients, and delicious. I used only about half of the oil and use more squash than it called for so also added one extra egg. I baked mine in a 8x8 glass baking dish so had to cook it for closer to an hour. I often find quiche recipes to be too eggy--too heavy and rich. But the Bisquick in this recipe made it light and fluffy and not too rich at all. Now that I know this trick, there are all sorts of variations that I can't wait to try! Thanks for the great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Absolutely to die for. If you are looking for a Zucchini Quiche recipe...look no further. I chose to shred my zucchini and squash because the kids tend to not want to eat it if they can see it. Experiment using different types of grated cheese. My husband likes bacon bits added. I have made this 3 times in the past month...great addition to any meal. I even ate a piece for breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I had way too much produce this year. Thought I would get rid of it at a church pot luck with this recipe. Did I ever!! Wasn't any left when I got up there and had to make another to see how it tasted. This was delicious. Added garlic (because I love it) and was very nice looking for presentation. Will keep this one handy. Have used different summer squashes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This is excellent!! I found that it didn't need quite as much oil as the recipe called for (I used olive oil and it was a little greasy--maybe because I used cheddar cheese on top). I also added olives and green onions. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
yummy!!!!!!!!!!!!! i love zucchini so this is wonderful hats off to mimi!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Just made it for dinner, served with a Greek salad, and it was delicious exactly as written. The slice tomatoes keep it moist - no need for a sauce, and the parmesan cheese makes the kitchen smell delightful. I baked it for 45 minutes and then ran the top under the broiler for a few minutes to brown the cheese lightly. Couldn't be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dallas Momma
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I L-O-V-E this recipe! It is sooooo easy and yummy. I add extra parmesan on top b/c I like lots of cheese. I also use seasoned salt instead of regular salt. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States