Mimi's Zucchini Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Here is a variation on this recipe which I have always made, and everyone always loves. (I love the idea of using zucchini and yellow squash and putting tomato slices on top! New additions to my old favorite.) 3 cups grated zucchini, 4 beaten eggs, 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 1/2 cup grated/shredded parmesan, 1 cup Bisquick (baking mix), 2 chopped large onions, salt and pepper. Mix all and put in greased pie dish. Bake at 350 for 1 hour. Serve hot, cold or room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I am so glad I tried this recipe. It was delicious and easy to make. The only thing I did different was that I sprinkled the top with an Italian seasoning blend that included parmesan cheese, oregano, basil and garlic. That made the pie look and taste impressive. It looked so good that a coworker asked me, "Where did you buy that quiche?" As you may have guessed, I told her I made it and was very proud to say so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Absolutely to die for. If you are looking for a Zucchini Quiche recipe...look no further. I chose to shred my zucchini and squash because the kids tend to not want to eat it if they can see it. Experiment using different types of grated cheese. My husband likes bacon bits added. I have made this 3 times in the past month...great addition to any meal. I even ate a piece for breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was fantastic! I love squash and zucchini and was excited to find a new way to try them. This recipe did not disappoint. I'm giving it 5 stars because it meets my three requirements of a great recipe--easy to prepare, few ingredients, and delicious. I used only about half of the oil and use more squash than it called for so also added one extra egg. I baked mine in a 8x8 glass baking dish so had to cook it for closer to an hour. I often find quiche recipes to be too eggy--too heavy and rich. But the Bisquick in this recipe made it light and fluffy and not too rich at all. Now that I know this trick, there are all sorts of variations that I can't wait to try! Thanks for the great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I made this for the first time for a family gathering, everyone loved it! I did do a "test run" and decided to add another layer of tomatoes. I poured half of mixture into pan and put a layer of tomatoes and parmesean, then poured the rest of "batter" with the other layer of tomatoes and parm. I had to cook a little longer but it was better with more tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I had way too much produce this year. Thought I would get rid of it at a church pot luck with this recipe. Did I ever!! Wasn't any left when I got up there and had to make another to see how it tasted. This was delicious. Added garlic (because I love it) and was very nice looking for presentation. Will keep this one handy. Have used different summer squashes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I AM REVIEWING THIS RECIPE EXACTLY HOW IT WAS WRITTEN. it was good 'as is' and could be improved upon with more cheese(s), herbs and spices-as most reviewers suggested. but it's a great starting out spot in which you can build upon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joan k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Had a lot of squash from garden so tried mimi's zucchini pie. Husband said it gets 5 stars. Followed recipe exactly let it sit a few minutes before cutting very good especially with fresh zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Great for picnics. I added paprika to spice it up. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This is excellent!! I found that it didn't need quite as much oil as the recipe called for (I used olive oil and it was a little greasy--maybe because I used cheddar cheese on top). I also added olives and green onions. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States