Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Really good. I used regular salmon and altered the dill, tarragon, thyme, and paprika a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Very yummy. The only change I made was to add 2 leeks just after I put in my potatoes. It was excellent! I served it with some sourdough bread and my husband said it was great. It also made great leftovers for us. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Easy and elegant, although I find it's easy to over-salt this dish. It can vary some in taste each time I make it but it's always good. P.S. If you're looking for a partner dish to serve to guests, try pairing it quiche and crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Good, but a little different than I expected. But still good not fantastic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Excellent recipe even after substituting fat-free half and half for cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
My family loved this recipe. I used a can of salmon, drained, instead of smoked salmon as that was what was on hand in the kitchen. I seasoned it with some smoked salt from a gourmet shop. I used an immersion blender in the pot on the stove instead of a blender. A pinch of cayenne pepper enhanced the flavors without adding heat. A keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Amazing flavor ... we all loved it. I lightly poached some fresh salmon and then flaked it into chunks in place of the smoked salmon since I didn't have smoked salmon. Next time I make it, I am adding more potatoes too .... there is plenty of flavor to handle more substance from additional potatoes in my opinion. Awesome recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marengo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Followed the recipe to a T, except I added a 14oz can of creamed corn. It got rave reviews. 07FEB09: Just made this again, first time for the wife and again this evening for the guys at work. Once again rave reviews. This time I added 1/2 # of small raw shelled shrimp. Mmmmm. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I added a lot more garlic than the recipe called for, and 4oz. more salmon. This recipe was delicious my boyfriend and I devoured it, with crusty bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I made this recipe for the first time and it was amazing. My stepsons said it was restaurant quality if not better. I followed the recipe to the T except I didn't have smoked salmon. Had to use up a salmon fillet out of freezer so I sauted it up in some onion and garlic then added it into the soup. would like to try smoked salmon next time. Thanx for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States