Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is AWESOME! I love the taste. Already posted it on Facebook so friends can try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was an excellent chowder, a perfect blend of ingredients and wonderful texture, the smokiness from the smoked salmon makes this dish. Next time I make this chowder I will try using sherry for the wine and add the lemon juice to taste or offer lemon wedges off to the side for each person to add to their liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
OMG!!!! Thos was the best chowder we ha ever had. I was afraid it might have a slight fishy taste from the smoked salmon, but the herbs, especially the dill and terragon added so much flavor the smoked salmon provided just a hint of smokey flavor to the chowder. I added a cup more broth and did not peel the potatoes. My hus and had a bad. Old and said this was exactly what he needed. A five ztR wAy to use leftover smoked salmon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Wow -- this was fantastic! I was upset to discover halfway through that I didn't have any tarragon in the house, but it was too late to turn back. It still turned out great! I used fat free half and half and it just couldn't have been better. I almost never cook the same thing twice, but I will definitely be making this again for Christmas -- after I buy some tarragon. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
this is excellent and nutritious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertdessert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orondo, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Oh my goodness, this is absolutely amazing! Made exactly as written and everyone raved. It had a great little kick to it and was creamy and delicious. I served it with Savory Bubble Bread from this site and that was a nice match. Love it, love it, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I followed the recipe with one exception: I cut the added salt in half. It was delicious, but thin and the potatoes were a little underdone. I believe this was my fault and will try to cook the chowder after the potatoes are added at a higher temperature for a longer period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This chowder is spectacular! I have made this for 2 small and 1 large dinner parties. Everyone raved! I followed the directions using Coho Salmon I caught this past summer and smoked 2 days ahead of time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
If I would have known chowder was this easy and this good....I would have been making it a long time ago. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I used this recipe for the basic idea and technique. Added diced carrots with the celery/onion/garlic, did not have chicken broth but added some dried fish powder, used canned salmon, skim milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2 and accidentally used a little too much hot sauce. It was delicious, warming and filling and I am enjoying the leftovers. I am sure it would be outstanding with smoked salmon and creamier with 1/2 and 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TFRach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States