Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Good, but a little different than I expected. But still good not fantastic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Excellent recipe even after substituting fat-free half and half for cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
My family loved this recipe. I used a can of salmon, drained, instead of smoked salmon as that was what was on hand in the kitchen. I seasoned it with some smoked salt from a gourmet shop. I used an immersion blender in the pot on the stove instead of a blender. A pinch of cayenne pepper enhanced the flavors without adding heat. A keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Amazing flavor ... we all loved it. I lightly poached some fresh salmon and then flaked it into chunks in place of the smoked salmon since I didn't have smoked salmon. Next time I make it, I am adding more potatoes too .... there is plenty of flavor to handle more substance from additional potatoes in my opinion. Awesome recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marengo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Followed the recipe to a T, except I added a 14oz can of creamed corn. It got rave reviews. 07FEB09: Just made this again, first time for the wife and again this evening for the guys at work. Once again rave reviews. This time I added 1/2 # of small raw shelled shrimp. Mmmmm. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I added a lot more garlic than the recipe called for, and 4oz. more salmon. This recipe was delicious my boyfriend and I devoured it, with crusty bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I made this recipe for the first time and it was amazing. My stepsons said it was restaurant quality if not better. I followed the recipe to the T except I didn't have smoked salmon. Had to use up a salmon fillet out of freezer so I sauted it up in some onion and garlic then added it into the soup. would like to try smoked salmon next time. Thanx for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Having grown up in the Pacific Northwest, I am an expert on salmon chowder. This is a wonderful, authentic recipe, and I really like the fact that it's "sensible" in fat (as opposed to having cups of cream in it). I followed the recipes as it was written, and was very pleased with the result. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Perris, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This is a 5 star recipe. Make it exactly as the recipe calls for, and YUM! It's low in fat, and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Grove, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Phenomenal and a cinch to make. Definitely on par with the best soups I've ordered in restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Smoked Salmon Quiche

Fantastic brunch recipe with smoked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States