Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I am the Salyers' ten year old son and I made this for dinner one night. Every one adored it except my five year old brother. We did not have all the ingredients so I did some minor adjustments.I used evaporated milk instead of cream and we used canned salmon( take the big bones out) with a little liquid smoke.We also did not have any tarragon or white wine. Enjoy! All 7 of us did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Olivet, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This was absolutely wonderful! Of course, you must like smoked salmon to enjoy this rich, delicious chowder. I was a little suspicious of 1/2 cup flour for the roux, but it turned out wonderfully, I added a total of 8 cups of chicken stock and a little extra pinch of each herb. Don't skip the tarragon, it adds a wonderful dimension to this chowder. Because of all of the flour, the lemon and wine are very important to giving this a tang, again, don't skip them. I used smoked salmon from our local gourmet store. The rich arroma this fills the house with! This would be terrific for the holidays! I topped with shredded cheddar, and served with cheddar/garlic biscuits. Sincere thanks for sharing! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I made this exactly as written with the exception of not peeling my red potatoes. :-) Served with a tossed green salad and French garlic bread. It was very good, Hils. Thank you from your neighbor on the Olympic Peninsula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
this was a great chowder.did leave out the tarragon(dont like it)other than that it was quick and easy. served in a sourdough bread bowl.this will be a favorite from now on.I live in the hood canal area of western washington(tahuya) and to have a local seafood favorite is great. so hats off to you hils for a recipe well done.I will look for more of your recipes. thanx karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRNLANCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was really good. I used the smoked salmon that comes in pouches, which tasted just fine. Even my picky fiance really liked it. Added extra potatoes and some Old Bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe! I am not particularly a fish person, but started eating salmon recently for the health benefits and this recipe is simply the greatest. Easy to make and delicious!!! Thanks for sharing this! Joyce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Rich tasting. Leave out the half & half & the salt. Only cook the salmon 5 minutes or drys out. Use sodium reduced chicken broth is salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was really good! Didn't have any white on hand so I left that out and subbed milk for half & half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Very tasty! Didn't have tarragon so skipped that. Used celery seed instead of celery because I was out, but the real stuff would be better. Might try adding some bacon next time. Could saute with the onions and perhaps replace some of the butter and/or olive oil with the bacon drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Wow! DH and I loved this. Very tasty and simple to make. I made a few changes: skipped the dill, used low fat evaporated milk, and added corn and white beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States