Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This chowder is spectacular! I have made this for 2 small and 1 large dinner parties. Everyone raved! I followed the directions using Coho Salmon I caught this past summer and smoked 2 days ahead of time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
If I would have known chowder was this easy and this good....I would have been making it a long time ago. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I used this recipe for the basic idea and technique. Added diced carrots with the celery/onion/garlic, did not have chicken broth but added some dried fish powder, used canned salmon, skim milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2 and accidentally used a little too much hot sauce. It was delicious, warming and filling and I am enjoying the leftovers. I am sure it would be outstanding with smoked salmon and creamier with 1/2 and 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TFRach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This chowder recipe is outstanding! I would definitely recommend seeking out wild Alaska salmon, as I've found the flavor is much better than Atlantic farmed salmon (better for the environment too). BTW, like others, I added almost a cup of corn. I also thinly sliced the potatoes (1/8 inch or so) for a different presentation. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Pretty good. Made this for dinner tonight. I'm not a fan, so I'd give 3 stars for that reason alone, but am not going to dock a recipe its worthy star just because I didn't care for it (there's nothing wrong with hils' recipe; it's just not my thing, I guess) so I am awarding 4 stars. Because I only had 2 (14.5) oz. cans of chicken broth on hand, I decided to scale this to make 5 servings (in this case, I should have used 3 3/4 cup broth, but didn't want to waste the 1/4 cup that was left, so I used all 4 cups of it). I could only find a 4 oz. package of Jim Beam brand smoked salmon, so I didn't use the 5 oz. called for. My only other change was adding 1 small carrot (chopped) to my chowder simply because I had it on hand and wanted to use it up. I used a good 'ol russet potato and a good quality smoked Spanish paparika that I purchased at my local spice shop. My choice of wine was chardonnay. Served in sourdough bread bowls (thank goodness for Panera Bread Co.!), this was a hearty and warming meal. I'm sure this would be good topped with seasoned oyster crackers too, and if I had them on hand, I would have. Even though this is not for me (and my fiance is not a big fan of chowder anyways), I am glad I gave it a try. The smoky flavor was the best part, so don't skimp - use real smoked salmon! Thanks for sharing your recipe, hils :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is a very good chowder, especially because it isn't overly creamy and the other flavors really shine through. I added corn because we like that in our chowder and it was wonderful. This is on our "Let's make it again!" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Scrumptious!! My husband made this tonight. Followed the suggestions by other reviewers to use unpeeled red potatoes and added a can of corn. We had fresh salmon on hand, so used that instead of smoked. "pure PNW comfort food" indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Very rich, smoky, and hearty. This was excellent, even by Alaskan standards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
this is one of the best things I ever made. Truly amazing. This is first time I made my girlfriend's dad really happy. I recommend this recipe whole heartedly. I followed the recipe fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
substitued 98% fat free chix broth, fat free 1/2 & 1/2, added 1/2 can of corn and sm can of mushrooms. All other intructions followed to a T. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2pickyeaters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States