Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I thought I had celery but turns out I didn't so I used green bell pepper instead. I am not a huge salmon or cream based soup fan but I was very impressed with this recipe. Celery would have been better and I didn't have tarragon (used extra dill instead) and this did turn out more of a soup than a chowder (add more flour if you like) but it had everything going for it. Great recipe that I will use for any leftover fish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I did not like this soup. May be the tarragon. It was way too salty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Love this recipe! We're dairy-free in our house, so I make this using soy creamer instead of heavy cream and margarine instead of butter—works wonderfully! I also add carrots if I have some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassidy Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This was really good - my 1st attempt at a chowder and it turned out great, everyone liked including the kids :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstopka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This is delicious. It's a little plain, so next time I will add more salt. But it is SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This chowder was fabulous, a wonderful treat on a cold day. My husband and I enjoyed it with some fresh bread from our bakery and made two full meals out of it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chania Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chania, Crete, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Sorry I did not like this at all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoe-zoe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Awesome chowder... The perfect way to use up some leftover smoked salmon. I followed the directions except for leaving the peels on the potatoes and cooking them on low instead of medium because I didn't want the potatoes to fall apart; after adding the cream I only simmered until it was heated (about 10 min). Also subbed about 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper for the hot sauce! Great on a cold day with crusty french bread! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Excellent!! The whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Oh my goodness, this recipe is so good! Living just outside of Spokane WA, we are the backwoods of the Pacific Northwest. We do not have many stores that have good, quality seafood. We do, however, have one amazing little store that prides themselves on getting seafood from the coast which made this recipe so worth it. Give this a try and follow the recipe, you can't go wrong. It is seafood comfort food at its best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Smoked Salmon Quiche

Fantastic brunch recipe with smoked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States