Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This turned out delicious! I added some crab & corn too and then sprinkled a little shredded, aged white cheddar on top! Yum... Easy to follow recipe! My husband LOVED it! He added more hot sauce to his once it hit the table. Says it was "Perfect"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutest Pumpkin

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I have made this recipe several times. I have not varied from the ingredients. The smoked salmon I have used is wild smoked salmon from Costco, which you purchase in two 8 oz. packages. and I cut it up small -- 1 " squares. I did cut down on the fat content by adding 1/2 milk with the half and half. The dill really makes it. Everyone in our home loves this recipe. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerry L.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I don't eat fish chowders normally, but this one was fantastic! We made it gluten free by adding mashed cauliflower instead of the flour. We also used frozen salmon instead of smoked. It was still delicious! Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Great recipe, loved the herb blend and subtleties of flavor. A word to the wise: don't salt it at all until all is done; some smoked salmon is very salty & you don't want to overdo. Taste it before adding salt! Mine was perfect without any added salt. Only things I did different was I thickened it with 6 T. instant mashed potatoes instead of flour to make a gluten-free, wheat free soup, and used vermouth instead of white wine because that's what I had available. I'm going to try this base for other chowders too! My BF loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
excellent recipe to liven up smoked salmon and give it some variety. i used cauliflower instead of potato, as well as added 1 cup persian rice for body. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was very good chowder. After reading all the reviews I chose to follow the recipe as written. The only ingredient I did not have was tarragon and I made my own 1/2 & 1/2 using heavy cream and milk. The 1/2 cup of flour makes it hard to call that step a roux because it is so dry. I added a little chicken stock to make it more of a paste. The important part of this step is to make sure you "cook" the flour so it doesn't taste like paste:) My soup thickened up nicely and I had no issues with a runny chowder. I had no issue with the chowder being salty, but I use very good organic chicken broth. I usually have to add salt when I use the broth, but after tasting the smoked salmon (which can be salty) I decided not to season with salt and I'm glad I made that decision. I think this is one of those recipes that you really need to us good quality ingredients. I would also recommend sampling your smoked salmon to make sure it is not real salty. You can always season at the end- much easier then fixing something that is to salty. Thank you for sharing this recipe. We love soup and this one is a good, tasty filling one. I can not wait to eat the leftovers for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
What a fabulous recipe. Making do with what I had in my kitchen I used 4 c. of chicken stock, 2 c. water, left out the tarragon and wine. I had smoked salmon from Haida Gwaii, this was an excellent way to use it and the chowder was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Awesome recipe! I followed it to a "T" except for the tarragon which I didn't have and I cut down on the salt as my chicken broth was rather salty. VERY good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lewisfamily503

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was very, very good! My guests asked if I had any left overs to send home with them, of course I loved that. I will make this recipe again. We used a chum salmon that my husband caught and smoked. This was probably the best way to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricqueld123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I had to try it............I substituted some cream cheese for the half and half. OMG!! So amazingly good!!!! I also tried adding some canned corn and mushrooms. For the paprika, I used smoked paprika. These were all wonderful additions. The recipe itself is a excellent blend of flavors and is a wonderful base for all sorts of experiments with variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virden, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States