Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I made this with homemade smoked whitefish instead of salmon. I didn't have any half-and-half, and substituted an equal amount of 2% evaporated milk which worked perfectly. If you are using a milder fish (we used pollack), I'd change the seasonings a bit. The herbs overpower the fish. Next time, I'll cut out the dill and tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINASQUIRREL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
"EXCELLENT" MADE TONIGHT FOR FAMILY IT'S BEEN REQUESTED TO ADD TO THE MONTHLY MENU GREAT TASTE THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
It’s important to note that this is a heavily Cajun flavored soup. If I were judging this for its Cajun flavor, I would give it a perfect 10. It tastes likes it’s loaded with spicy smoked andouille sausage. Unfortunately, I have to be in the mood for a Cajun dish of this caliber and that's not what I had in mind when I set out to make this. I love smoked salmon and was hoping for a recipe that highlighted the delicate and wonderful flavor of a good quality smoked salmon, not cover it up so you can’t taste it. Sorry, just not a combination that worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I bet this soup, when made correctly, is the bomb! The way I made it, bombed! I screwed it up, probably by NOT using fresh salmon. I used canned. So note to self, use fresh salmon the next time. The end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Fabulous recipe! I also left out the salt, and added the hot sauce at the table. Don't scrimp on the full fat half and half, fat free would not give it the same wonderful consistency. Kids and adults alike all enjoyed this. This is a perfect chowder for a rainy Pacific Northwest day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Great jumping off point for whatever seafood you've got on hand. I added a carrot, jumbo prawns, and used Blue Russian potatoes in it and it was fantastic. Thanks Mimi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShellyDM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Just finished making a batch with some smoked salmon that a friend's husband caught and that I was lucky to receive. This is a flavorful chowder that's hearty enough for a rainy Seattle day. I did add three bacon strips chopped up very small, in with the butter and olive oil and the other ingredients at the beginning and it really gave a little more boost to the already flavorful broth. Very easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3KIDS4SAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This turned out delicious! I added some crab & corn too and then sprinkled a little shredded, aged white cheddar on top! Yum... Easy to follow recipe! My husband LOVED it! He added more hot sauce to his once it hit the table. Says it was "Perfect"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutest Pumpkin

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I have made this recipe several times. I have not varied from the ingredients. The smoked salmon I have used is wild smoked salmon from Costco, which you purchase in two 8 oz. packages. and I cut it up small -- 1 " squares. I did cut down on the fat content by adding 1/2 milk with the half and half. The dill really makes it. Everyone in our home loves this recipe. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerry L.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I don't eat fish chowders normally, but this one was fantastic! We made it gluten free by adding mashed cauliflower instead of the flour. We also used frozen salmon instead of smoked. It was still delicious! Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States