Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
We have made this many times. My family likes salmon, so this is a flavour we enjoy. Don't put salt until the end as your broth or fish might already be very salty. We find it tastes best with organic chicken broth and you can make it with milk instead of cream. Love this recipe - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
My first time having smoked salmon chowder and it was delicious. I didn't have tarragon or wine and I added corn. I also didnt cook it that long after adding the salmon. It was delicious! I used Coho smoked salmon from trader joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I made this exactly as written with one very important exception - I didn't add the 1 tsp. salt. Truly, it's not needed and I think it would have ruined the finished product by making it too salty. I think some other reviews could leave some readers confused. This really isn't a cajun dish, BUT it does call for hot sauce. If you don't like spicy food, don't add the hot sauce (or add just a teeny tiny bit - it really does add a wonderful dimension to the chowder). Lots of folks don't like the taste of tarragon and/or dill - leave either out if you're one of them. I think these herbs add a lovely complexity to the dish, but hey, if you don't like them, it won't work for you. And if you're watching calories or fat/cholesterol levels, then you could use a lower fat alternative to the half and half. Yes, it adds a richness, but thanks to all the other wonderful ingredients, it will be almost as rich and decadent with a lighter version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by livinhapaz
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
One of the best dishes I've done from AllRecipes. Amazing. Didn't put celery, because i don't like. The family loved. Thank you Mimi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livinhapaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Overall, average recipe. I and two kids said it was OK, but the third wouldn't eat more than the first bite. I attempted to do a half recipe, which probably resulted in too long of a cooking time for the amounts. As such, it was pretty thick at the end. Nonetheless, I think it was probably close to the intended taste. The tarragon taste was relatively strong, and I think this was the biggest turn off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was the best chowder I've EVER had! I didn't put the wine in because I didn't have any and I threw in about 1 1/2 cups of chopped bacon. We all thought it was worthy of being served in an upscale restaurant. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased. The only change I would suggest is to cube the potatoes to 1/2-3/4 inch cubes rather than 1 inch. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I made this with homemade smoked whitefish instead of salmon. I didn't have any half-and-half, and substituted an equal amount of 2% evaporated milk which worked perfectly. If you are using a milder fish (we used pollack), I'd change the seasonings a bit. The herbs overpower the fish. Next time, I'll cut out the dill and tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINASQUIRREL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
"EXCELLENT" MADE TONIGHT FOR FAMILY IT'S BEEN REQUESTED TO ADD TO THE MONTHLY MENU GREAT TASTE THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
It’s important to note that this is a heavily Cajun flavored soup. If I were judging this for its Cajun flavor, I would give it a perfect 10. It tastes likes it’s loaded with spicy smoked andouille sausage. Unfortunately, I have to be in the mood for a Cajun dish of this caliber and that's not what I had in mind when I set out to make this. I love smoked salmon and was hoping for a recipe that highlighted the delicate and wonderful flavor of a good quality smoked salmon, not cover it up so you can’t taste it. Sorry, just not a combination that worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States