Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I am the Salyers' ten year old son and I made this for dinner one night. Every one adored it except my five year old brother. We did not have all the ingredients so I did some minor adjustments.I used evaporated milk instead of cream and we used canned salmon( take the big bones out) with a little liquid smoke.We also did not have any tarragon or white wine. Enjoy! All 7 of us did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Olivet, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This was absolutely wonderful! Of course, you must like smoked salmon to enjoy this rich, delicious chowder. I was a little suspicious of 1/2 cup flour for the roux, but it turned out wonderfully, I added a total of 8 cups of chicken stock and a little extra pinch of each herb. Don't skip the tarragon, it adds a wonderful dimension to this chowder. Because of all of the flour, the lemon and wine are very important to giving this a tang, again, don't skip them. I used smoked salmon from our local gourmet store. The rich arroma this fills the house with! This would be terrific for the holidays! I topped with shredded cheddar, and served with cheddar/garlic biscuits. Sincere thanks for sharing! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
this was a great chowder.did leave out the tarragon(dont like it)other than that it was quick and easy. served in a sourdough bread bowl.this will be a favorite from now on.I live in the hood canal area of western washington(tahuya) and to have a local seafood favorite is great. so hats off to you hils for a recipe well done.I will look for more of your recipes. thanx karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRNLANCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe! I am not particularly a fish person, but started eating salmon recently for the health benefits and this recipe is simply the greatest. Easy to make and delicious!!! Thanks for sharing this! Joyce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Rich tasting. Leave out the half & half & the salt. Only cook the salmon 5 minutes or drys out. Use sodium reduced chicken broth is salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was really good! Didn't have any white on hand so I left that out and subbed milk for half & half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Wow! DH and I loved this. Very tasty and simple to make. I made a few changes: skipped the dill, used low fat evaporated milk, and added corn and white beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
this recipe was great. i made it for my boyfriend and myself on valentines day and it was the perfect end to a perfect day. though I did go a bit overboard on the dill. but other than my own slip ups this meal was positively fantastic! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
FANTASTIC! We all loved it. I did use fresh herbs instead of dried- much better flavor! Also used canned salmon instead of smoked. This recipe was so flavorful and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Phenomenal and a cinch to make. Definitely on par with the best soups I've ordered in restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States