Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This was absolutely wonderful! Of course, you must like smoked salmon to enjoy this rich, delicious chowder. I was a little suspicious of 1/2 cup flour for the roux, but it turned out wonderfully, I added a total of 8 cups of chicken stock and a little extra pinch of each herb. Don't skip the tarragon, it adds a wonderful dimension to this chowder. Because of all of the flour, the lemon and wine are very important to giving this a tang, again, don't skip them. I used smoked salmon from our local gourmet store. The rich arroma this fills the house with! This would be terrific for the holidays! I topped with shredded cheddar, and served with cheddar/garlic biscuits. Sincere thanks for sharing! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I am the Salyers' ten year old son and I made this for dinner one night. Every one adored it except my five year old brother. We did not have all the ingredients so I did some minor adjustments.I used evaporated milk instead of cream and we used canned salmon( take the big bones out) with a little liquid smoke.We also did not have any tarragon or white wine. Enjoy! All 7 of us did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Olivet, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Having grown up in the Pacific Northwest, I am an expert on salmon chowder. This is a wonderful, authentic recipe, and I really like the fact that it's "sensible" in fat (as opposed to having cups of cream in it). I followed the recipes as it was written, and was very pleased with the result. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Perris, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Rich tasting. Leave out the half & half & the salt. Only cook the salmon 5 minutes or drys out. Use sodium reduced chicken broth is salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Easy and elegant, although I find it's easy to over-salt this dish. It can vary some in taste each time I make it but it's always good. P.S. If you're looking for a partner dish to serve to guests, try pairing it quiche and crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Wow! DH and I loved this. Very tasty and simple to make. I made a few changes: skipped the dill, used low fat evaporated milk, and added corn and white beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I made this exactly as written with the exception of not peeling my red potatoes. :-) Served with a tossed green salad and French garlic bread. It was very good, Hils. Thank you from your neighbor on the Olympic Peninsula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Amazing flavor ... we all loved it. I lightly poached some fresh salmon and then flaked it into chunks in place of the smoked salmon since I didn't have smoked salmon. Next time I make it, I am adding more potatoes too .... there is plenty of flavor to handle more substance from additional potatoes in my opinion. Awesome recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marengo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This is a 5 star recipe. Make it exactly as the recipe calls for, and YUM! It's low in fat, and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Grove, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I added a lot more garlic than the recipe called for, and 4oz. more salmon. This recipe was delicious my boyfriend and I devoured it, with crusty bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States