Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was a good dish. I wish I would of bought fresh salmon and cooked it my self instead of buying the packages smoked salmon, the taste was not as good and the salmon was a little chewy. I did add more potatoes and some corn to the recipe this added some more texture that I thought was really good. Chowder was even better the next day as leftovers after the flavors had time to settle. I will definately make again but maybe next time I will substitue chicken instead of salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was excellent! I added some chopped bacon and a small can of creamed corn, and it tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Really good. I used regular salmon and altered the dill, tarragon, thyme, and paprika a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Very yummy. The only change I made was to add 2 leeks just after I put in my potatoes. It was excellent! I served it with some sourdough bread and my husband said it was great. It also made great leftovers for us. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Easy and elegant, although I find it's easy to over-salt this dish. It can vary some in taste each time I make it but it's always good. P.S. If you're looking for a partner dish to serve to guests, try pairing it quiche and crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Good, but a little different than I expected. But still good not fantastic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Excellent recipe even after substituting fat-free half and half for cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
My family loved this recipe. I used a can of salmon, drained, instead of smoked salmon as that was what was on hand in the kitchen. I seasoned it with some smoked salt from a gourmet shop. I used an immersion blender in the pot on the stove instead of a blender. A pinch of cayenne pepper enhanced the flavors without adding heat. A keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Amazing flavor ... we all loved it. I lightly poached some fresh salmon and then flaked it into chunks in place of the smoked salmon since I didn't have smoked salmon. Next time I make it, I am adding more potatoes too .... there is plenty of flavor to handle more substance from additional potatoes in my opinion. Awesome recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marengo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Followed the recipe to a T, except I added a 14oz can of creamed corn. It got rave reviews. 07FEB09: Just made this again, first time for the wife and again this evening for the guys at work. Once again rave reviews. This time I added 1/2 # of small raw shelled shrimp. Mmmmm. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States