Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Awesome chowder... The perfect way to use up some leftover smoked salmon. I followed the directions except for leaving the peels on the potatoes and cooking them on low instead of medium because I didn't want the potatoes to fall apart; after adding the cream I only simmered until it was heated (about 10 min). Also subbed about 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper for the hot sauce! Great on a cold day with crusty french bread! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Excellent!! The whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Oh my goodness, this recipe is so good! Living just outside of Spokane WA, we are the backwoods of the Pacific Northwest. We do not have many stores that have good, quality seafood. We do, however, have one amazing little store that prides themselves on getting seafood from the coast which made this recipe so worth it. Give this a try and follow the recipe, you can't go wrong. It is seafood comfort food at its best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I grew up in Alaska and by far this is the best Salmon chowder I have had. Hats off to Mimi and this wonderful recipe. The only thing I changed was to add a can of corn. I'm sure a fresh ear of corn would have been better but it's all I had at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was dinner tonight and am I ever glad for that. Really simple and delicious soup/chowder that will be on the rotation for a good long time. I happened to have vegetable broth on hand and used that. I don't like the taste of tarragon, so I didn't use that. Everything else was exactly as written except I had a small amount of leftover mashed potatoes that I added in addition to the red potatoes I used. That was fine because it did give the chowder a nice thick consistency. My daughter was rather skeptical at the thought of a smoked salmon chowder but after she tasted it, all doubt was erased. Thanks so much for submitting a true taste of the Northwest from a resident of the Northwest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by elt
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is fabulous. I followed the recipe to the letter. I couldn't believe it was low calorie, so I added it all back up myself. I was pleasantly surprised at how spicy it is. If you don't like yours spicy, you may want to reduce the paprika and hot sauce. It is wonderful as is, but I think it would also be a great base to try with grilled chicken or other meats also. Then my husband could eat it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is AWESOME! I love the taste. Already posted it on Facebook so friends can try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was an excellent chowder, a perfect blend of ingredients and wonderful texture, the smokiness from the smoked salmon makes this dish. Next time I make this chowder I will try using sherry for the wine and add the lemon juice to taste or offer lemon wedges off to the side for each person to add to their liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
OMG!!!! Thos was the best chowder we ha ever had. I was afraid it might have a slight fishy taste from the smoked salmon, but the herbs, especially the dill and terragon added so much flavor the smoked salmon provided just a hint of smokey flavor to the chowder. I added a cup more broth and did not peel the potatoes. My hus and had a bad. Old and said this was exactly what he needed. A five ztR wAy to use leftover smoked salmon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Wow -- this was fantastic! I was upset to discover halfway through that I didn't have any tarragon in the house, but it was too late to turn back. It still turned out great! I used fat free half and half and it just couldn't have been better. I almost never cook the same thing twice, but I will definitely be making this again for Christmas -- after I buy some tarragon. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States