Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Great recipe, loved the herb blend and subtleties of flavor. A word to the wise: don't salt it at all until all is done; some smoked salmon is very salty & you don't want to overdo. Taste it before adding salt! Mine was perfect without any added salt. Only things I did different was I thickened it with 6 T. instant mashed potatoes instead of flour to make a gluten-free, wheat free soup, and used vermouth instead of white wine because that's what I had available. I'm going to try this base for other chowders too! My BF loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
excellent recipe to liven up smoked salmon and give it some variety. i used cauliflower instead of potato, as well as added 1 cup persian rice for body. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was very good chowder. After reading all the reviews I chose to follow the recipe as written. The only ingredient I did not have was tarragon and I made my own 1/2 & 1/2 using heavy cream and milk. The 1/2 cup of flour makes it hard to call that step a roux because it is so dry. I added a little chicken stock to make it more of a paste. The important part of this step is to make sure you "cook" the flour so it doesn't taste like paste:) My soup thickened up nicely and I had no issues with a runny chowder. I had no issue with the chowder being salty, but I use very good organic chicken broth. I usually have to add salt when I use the broth, but after tasting the smoked salmon (which can be salty) I decided not to season with salt and I'm glad I made that decision. I think this is one of those recipes that you really need to us good quality ingredients. I would also recommend sampling your smoked salmon to make sure it is not real salty. You can always season at the end- much easier then fixing something that is to salty. Thank you for sharing this recipe. We love soup and this one is a good, tasty filling one. I can not wait to eat the leftovers for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
What a fabulous recipe. Making do with what I had in my kitchen I used 4 c. of chicken stock, 2 c. water, left out the tarragon and wine. I had smoked salmon from Haida Gwaii, this was an excellent way to use it and the chowder was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Awesome recipe! I followed it to a "T" except for the tarragon which I didn't have and I cut down on the salt as my chicken broth was rather salty. VERY good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Baisch-Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was very, very good! My guests asked if I had any left overs to send home with them, of course I loved that. I will make this recipe again. We used a chum salmon that my husband caught and smoked. This was probably the best way to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricqueld123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I had to try it............I substituted some cream cheese for the half and half. OMG!! So amazingly good!!!! I also tried adding some canned corn and mushrooms. For the paprika, I used smoked paprika. These were all wonderful additions. The recipe itself is a excellent blend of flavors and is a wonderful base for all sorts of experiments with variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virden, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Absolutely incredible - jam packed with flavor, beyond restaurant quality. I cooked this in my slow cooker for about 4 hours so that everything would mix together and the salmon wouldn't get dried out. I added corn and fresh mushrooms which added even more flavor. Because my girlfriend is lactose intolerant, I replaced the half & half with 1/2 cup coconut milk creme (one can, the stuff that settles at the top) and 1/2 cup lactaid brand lactose-free milk. Worked like a charm. Thanks for this recipe - yet another Northwest/Seattle person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
After reading all the reviews, I made this for company. I used no extra salt and extra potatoes per some of the reviews. We have a ton of smoked salmon in the freezer so I used a little extra. I did leave out the wine only because a guest cant have any. Because I strongly dislike overcooked salmon I added it last and cooked for only 5-6 minutes, again per some of the reviews. Thank you so much for this recipe, I had never heard of smoked salmon chowder. We are going to be making this again and again! Everyone loved it, good thing I doubled the recipe! =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I could have sworn I rated this already! Anyway, we had some leftover smoked salmon a couple of weeks ago, and I didn't want it to go to waste, so I decided to make this. It was quite the ordeal, I don't know if the flour/butter/veggie ratio is off or what, but I couldn't get my roux to turn out right. It may have been my pot b/c I had problems w/ it later (will explain in a minute), but the roux just wouldn't set up right, and I've made roux many times, and never had a problem. Anyway, then it took over an hour to get it to simmer, this is why I think I had a problem w/ the pot, maybe it was too big or something, (just a regular stock pot), but the chowder was very thin and runny, never did thicken up, and I cooked it for HOURS! It could have been user error, but I was just frustrated by the end of the process. However it did have a good flavor and my son gobbled it up, so all in all I would call it a success. Will try again, in a few months!! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Smoked Salmon Quiche

Fantastic brunch recipe with smoked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States