Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This is delicious. I added corn for texture since I didn't have celery, but the corn is a little sweet in my opinion. I also didn't have any half and half or evaporated milk, so I used plain soy milk, which I did have. Didn't affect the quality or flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I made this with some leftover salmon and it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
just made this last night, having never made a chowder or even a roux before and it was fantastic and so simple! it's a little easy to over-do the herbs (i couldn't find my teaspoon) so measure those carefully. i also used a mix of red and gold potatoes instead of russets which i think made a nicer texture and flavor than russets might have. i had so much fun making and eating this, i'm definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
A very flavorful, fragrant recipe for smoked salmon! The spices complemented each other nicely and went well with the salmon, though I'm sure variations in the salmon could influence how the recipe turns out. I did expect it to be more chowder-y (thicker or creamier), but it worked well in a bread bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
In my opinion the herbs took over the flavor of the salmon. And that was AFTER I cut the tarragon and thyme to 1/2 teaspoon each. I will probably give it another try and use even less herb. I just want to taste the salmon more. The consistency was good and I liked that it didn't have a lot of cream in it. The half and half was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was so yummy...BUT i didn't have smoked salmon I had fresh Salmon so I cubed it up, and I added bacon in the beginning when sauteing up the onions and celerey. Also I didn't have Tarrogon and I didn't have hot sauce so I put a dash of cayenne pepper instead and didn't substitute anything for the tarragon...This is SOOOO good!!:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bctawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
We have made this many times. My family likes salmon, so this is a flavour we enjoy. Don't put salt until the end as your broth or fish might already be very salty. We find it tastes best with organic chicken broth and you can make it with milk instead of cream. Love this recipe - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
My first time having smoked salmon chowder and it was delicious. I didn't have tarragon or wine and I added corn. I also didnt cook it that long after adding the salmon. It was delicious! I used Coho smoked salmon from trader joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I made this exactly as written with one very important exception - I didn't add the 1 tsp. salt. Truly, it's not needed and I think it would have ruined the finished product by making it too salty. I think some other reviews could leave some readers confused. This really isn't a cajun dish, BUT it does call for hot sauce. If you don't like spicy food, don't add the hot sauce (or add just a teeny tiny bit - it really does add a wonderful dimension to the chowder). Lots of folks don't like the taste of tarragon and/or dill - leave either out if you're one of them. I think these herbs add a lovely complexity to the dish, but hey, if you don't like them, it won't work for you. And if you're watching calories or fat/cholesterol levels, then you could use a lower fat alternative to the half and half. Yes, it adds a richness, but thanks to all the other wonderful ingredients, it will be almost as rich and decadent with a lighter version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by livinhapaz
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
One of the best dishes I've done from AllRecipes. Amazing. Didn't put celery, because i don't like. The family loved. Thank you Mimi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livinhapaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States