Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Amazing flavor ... we all loved it. I lightly poached some fresh salmon and then flaked it into chunks in place of the smoked salmon since I didn't have smoked salmon. Next time I make it, I am adding more potatoes too .... there is plenty of flavor to handle more substance from additional potatoes in my opinion. Awesome recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marengo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Followed the recipe to a T, except I added a 14oz can of creamed corn. It got rave reviews. 07FEB09: Just made this again, first time for the wife and again this evening for the guys at work. Once again rave reviews. This time I added 1/2 # of small raw shelled shrimp. Mmmmm. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I added a lot more garlic than the recipe called for, and 4oz. more salmon. This recipe was delicious my boyfriend and I devoured it, with crusty bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I made this recipe for the first time and it was amazing. My stepsons said it was restaurant quality if not better. I followed the recipe to the T except I didn't have smoked salmon. Had to use up a salmon fillet out of freezer so I sauted it up in some onion and garlic then added it into the soup. would like to try smoked salmon next time. Thanx for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Having grown up in the Pacific Northwest, I am an expert on salmon chowder. This is a wonderful, authentic recipe, and I really like the fact that it's "sensible" in fat (as opposed to having cups of cream in it). I followed the recipes as it was written, and was very pleased with the result. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Perris, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This is a 5 star recipe. Make it exactly as the recipe calls for, and YUM! It's low in fat, and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Grove, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Phenomenal and a cinch to make. Definitely on par with the best soups I've ordered in restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
FANTASTIC! We all loved it. I did use fresh herbs instead of dried- much better flavor! Also used canned salmon instead of smoked. This recipe was so flavorful and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
this recipe was great. i made it for my boyfriend and myself on valentines day and it was the perfect end to a perfect day. though I did go a bit overboard on the dill. but other than my own slip ups this meal was positively fantastic! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Wow! DH and I loved this. Very tasty and simple to make. I made a few changes: skipped the dill, used low fat evaporated milk, and added corn and white beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States