Mimi's Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I liked this one-pot meal combining several of my favorite foods. I steamed the carrots & potatoes separately (in the mwo) for a few minutes, then sautéed the meat and onions before adding them. I added the bell peppers last, as I like them with some crunch. I cut the pieces into a large dice like hash & served with sunny side up eggs on top & Sriracha biscuits on the side. Very satisfying & will be making it again - maybe with different meats and adding mushrooms & cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
i turned this into a crock pot dish added Jalapenos and more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Maize

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Loved this! I did change a couple things. First, I used bacon fat I save when I cook bacon , so had it on hand. Lightly fried the potatoes sliced in the bacon fat. Took potatoes out and set aside; then fried the kielbasa a bit, then added the peppers, onion, 2 cloves of garlic. Cook 5 mins. Then return the potatoes to the pepper onion kielbasa combination; cook until the potatoes are tender. I added 4 good shakes of Louisiana hot sauce. Turn off heat and let the flavored meld! Wonderful w/ rice, or w/ eggs, or as a taco or burrito! Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Didn't have peppers, but added chopped mustard spinach from the garden and a drizzle and garlic wine vinegar. Tastes great for a quick weeknight dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This recipe is easy to put together and turned out delicious. I had yellow potatoes, that have soft skins, so I did not peel the potatoes. Because the dish is covered for most of the cooking time, the potatoes will get soft, and not crispy. They worked well in this dish. I served 'KISS: Keep it Simple (Brussels) Sprouts' from AR, homemade applesauce and bread sticks with this meal. This meal would work well to prep ahead and cook later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I love this recipe! We've made this three or four times, and it always comes out fantastic. I always serve this with a perfectly fried egg. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I really like this dish. The potatoes get cooked really nicely with almost a crisp outside. I really like the combo of the potatoes and peppers with the meat. And I usually use turkey kielbasa instead of the beer. I have made this a couple of times and it's a hit with my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
added large clove garlic and touch of minced ginger while onions were cooking sliced the potatoes instead of cubes added a couple tablespoons of maple syrup loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Art Goldsmith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
The only change I made was less oil and multi colored peppers. I used 4 tablespoons of olive oil and I believe I could have used less. Both my husband and I loved it. So flavorful!! I served buttered cabbage with it. Yum!! A definite make-again and again dish! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
My family loved this. Excellenet recipe, Thanks. I also added 3 cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States