Mimi's Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Wonderful Recipe! I did add 3 cloves of fresh garlic minced (I LOVE Garlic). Used 1 Red & 1 Green Pepper, 1 Red Onion, fresh ground pepper 1/2 teaspoon or to taste, 4 Red potatoes (sliced like potato chips but thicker, and added 1 1/2 tsp Mrs. Dash Italian Medley, 2tsp Parsley (freshly chopped). I did with these specs but times 3 as I needed bigger serving size. I used cast iron skillets and it came out wonderful and very colorful. I recommend changing up the peppers to red, green, yellow, and orange. Not only for color but some peppers are sweeter than others if you want something along the lines of sweetness. Next time I will be cutting back on the oil beings that much oil was not needed, due to the fact that kielbasa is naturally greasy anyhow. If you decide to add the fresh garlic and parsley add with the onions and oil. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I got a little creative. I added red, green, and yellow peppers, asparagus, mushrooms and of course garlic. I added all of the veggies in the w/ onions. Other than that I followed directions and ingredients. Was very good! Would make a great breakfast dish with a tortilla, maybe even as a buritto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I've heard so many good things about this recipe, but we don't like Kielbasa.So I went ahead and used Spicy Italian Sausage in it's place.My other changes to the basic recipe were in adding 2 cloves garlic to the onion saute,adding an extra potato, using 3 peppers (green, red and orange), and adding about 2 Tbsp. fresh parsley just before serving. We really enjoyed this dish... and even though I may have changed it up a bit to suit our particular tastes, I'm still rating it a 5*. This recipe is highly recommended, no matter what kind of sausage you choose to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I finally tried this....it has come highly recommended by my Quality Cook friends. Thanks guys, the family really liked it. I did have to cut the peppers into smaller pieces so my oldest would eat them. I used a red and orange pepper and I added some Roasted Garlic & Bell Pepper Seasoning and it was great. I will make this often...thanks Christopher for the yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This is wonderful. By placing the kielbasa on top of the potato onion mixture, the juices are flowing down into the other ingredients, giving them a tasty flavor. I cut the green pepper to one rather than two for personal preference. Thanks for sharing Christopher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I pretty much followed this recipe to a T and it came out great (I added 2 tbspns of garlic)...the recipe calls for 1/4 cup of oil which I would still use for the cooking of the potatoes, but I drained the grease out before letting the dish cool and set in the skillet. Another suggestion is to add the peppers a little later in the cooking process since they got very mushy, but overall this recipe is a 5 ya'll!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Great for a cold New England night. Some would call it comfort food. I did use bacon grease instead of oil. It flavored the potatoes wonderfully. About 2 tablespoons. I used sliced baby carrots and celery also. This recipe will be used often. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Excellent!!! I used turkey kielbasa and quite a bit less oil (just over a tablespoon) and it turned out so yummy. The kielbasa really seasons the potato/onion/green pepper mixture. The only thing I would do differently with this one would be to add the peppers during the last 20 minutes of cooking. They really get pretty soggy and I guess it's just a personal preference to have a more crisp green pepper. Thanks much - this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
OK, this was fab and so easy! I used turkey kielbasa and one each of green and red peppers. I also seasoned a little with garlic salt. I fried everything as directed for 13 minutes and then added about 1/2 a bottle of beer and boiled for another 10 minutes. The potatoes were nice and tender and I think the beer added some good flavor. I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Absolutly fantastic!! I used 1 green, 1/2 red, and 1/2 yellow bell peppers and added them in before the final step. I also cut down on the oil and added 2 cloves of garlic. I used 1.25 of red potatoes (left the skin on) plus one regular potato. Next time I think I'll add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States