Mimi's Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Absolutly fantastic!! I used 1 green, 1/2 red, and 1/2 yellow bell peppers and added them in before the final step. I also cut down on the oil and added 2 cloves of garlic. I used 1.25 of red potatoes (left the skin on) plus one regular potato. Next time I think I'll add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This is one of our favorites. nothing fancy...just very flavorful; quick and easy. My husband LOVES it! A complete meal in one pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I finally tried this....it has come highly recommended by my Quality Cook friends. Thanks guys, the family really liked it. I did have to cut the peppers into smaller pieces so my oldest would eat them. I used a red and orange pepper and I added some Roasted Garlic & Bell Pepper Seasoning and it was great. I will make this often...thanks Christopher for the yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Hubby and I both thought this was really good! I used one red and one green pepper, otherwise followed the recipe pretty closely. I do think the cook time is off a little though, or maybe I just had the heat up too high. The potatoes got a little mushy. Hubby also said he thought the kielbasa should have been browned up a little more. I think next time I'll add that before the potatoes. Great flavor, though! Thanks for the recipe Christopher, I can't wait to have the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I got a little creative. I added red, green, and yellow peppers, asparagus, mushrooms and of course garlic. I added all of the veggies in the w/ onions. Other than that I followed directions and ingredients. Was very good! Would make a great breakfast dish with a tortilla, maybe even as a buritto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This was really good, and so simple! The only changed I made was adding a spoonful of minced garlic. It's a delicous, hardy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This recipe was so easy to prepare. It was also quite tasty considering that it doesn't require much seasonings! I added water to the pan after the potatoes were added, and it made a really nice subtle sauce. I then served it in a deep bowl. A really great quick meal for anyone who likes basic meals. If you have a preference for finer foods, it may not be a big hit for you. Otherwise, it's certainly worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This is good. I make a similar dish using italian sausage. I prefer the sausage over the kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was tasty and very good for a weeknight dinner of this working mom. I came home, chopped up onion and threw it into my cast iron skillet and peeled and cubed yukon gold (yellow) potatoes, while my onions were stewing in the olive oil. Paid attention to the directions and added everything when it said I should, except the green peppers. I took the casing off the kielbasa and added the green peppers when I added the meat. I did add garlic powder (at the end because it didn't have that much flavor) but all in all, this was a great recipe. Using the cast iron helped with the oil issue that everyone else seemed to complain about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
After eating this the day I made it, I rated it 4 stars. I had to come back today to rate it 5! The flavors melded together overnight and made the most delicious filling for burritos! I just wrapped up the mixture in a tortilla with some cheese and sour cream. Here's my original review: turned out yummy! made without peppers, just potatoes onions and kielbasa. made rice but that was dumb- it was a carbfest. This can stand alone, maybe with a salad. A great one pot comfort meal. I think it makes enough to feed at least 6- and cheaply! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States