Mimi's Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I made this for dinner last night and my fiance and I loved it. I added red peppers as well and cook the potatoes separately. I toasted some french bread hoagies and we put the sausage and peppers on the roll with some spicy mustard. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Unbelievably good! I will be adding this to our rotation. Very greasy so I will be cutting down the oil by a T. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I've made this a few times, and I've loved it every time. I also use low-fat kielbasa. You can't tell the difference and it cuts down on the fat. Be sure to use a big frying pan; the first time I made this I could barely fit the lid on the one I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANITEGAL316

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, Ohio, USA
Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
What a name! This was very good. Took longer than I thought, the reviews are varied about that, I guess it just depends on how thick you cut the potatoes. I added garlic and some of a dry packet of italian dressing. Based on reviews I waited to add the peppers but I cut them so small I don't think it mattered. Next time I will probably cut them a little thicker. To make it lower in fat I used only a little olive oil, about 1 1/2 TBS and turkey kielbasa. Was very good, I will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is one of my favorite sausage recipes. My mom use to make it all the time using either turkey sausage or lite smoked sausage to save on the fat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Very good and very easy to make! I did what others had said and added some garlic and italian seasoning. I only had green peppers on hand, but next time I think I will add some red pepper as well seeing as those are my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This was god, and hubby loved it, but I felt it lacked something. (Not sure what!) I like my potatoes nice and crisp, and they turned out pretty soggy, although tasty. Not quite sure if I'l try this again, though I'll keep the recipe just because hubby liked it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pedigo Skaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Yum! I omitted the green pepper and added a bag of shredded cabbage near the end of cooking. I also added garlic powder and cumin -- it was absolutely delicious and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe, quick and easy, smelled great too! Next time I want to try it with sausage, but it's perfect as is too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahensnest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Very good. I would not use a lot of oil to cook the onions because the smoked sausage(I used lite) gives off a lot of grease. I added a little chopped garlic to the onions. I would also watch the cook times since I used yukon gold potatoes and diced them it didn't take as long to cook. By the time I got to the end cook time my peppers and potatoes were overdone - mushy-didn't need to sit w/lid on. Everyone liked it & was good the next day w/scrambled eggs. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States