Mimi's Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I like that it was cheap and easy, tastes alright. Nothing special though - would make again in a pinch. I thought everything turned out too mushy and I even added the peppers during the last five minutes. Tastes like breakfast, might make some scrambled eggs to go with the leftovers and top with cheese like a skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
so so, nothing too special but it was quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was good and easy to make. Followed directions and ingredients but I only had 1/2 a package of beef kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This was SO SO SO good. Mine cooked much faster than the recipes indicates, but maybe because I used Yukon Gold potatoes?? Either way it was very good and very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
First time I made it and it all went! Fantastic recipe. I did add a couple banana pepper and that was the only comment I hear, "more pepper still." But that is all personal preferance and we love peppers. I would also suggest as many others did, start by browning down your potatoes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I followed hreed's suggestion and browned the kielbasa and potatos seperately before adding the the rest of the ingrediants to prevent "mushyness" and it came out good. My husband and father-in-law loved it, I wasn't quite as impressed. I'll probably make again as a fall back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReginaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This really wasn't anything to brag about. I made it for a diner and I think it would be a better breakfast. Also I would recommend browning the potatoes and kielbasa and then adding the other stuff. It was just all too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was very tastey, inexpensive, and quick and easy to prepare. I found this recipe and it reminded me of something dad used to make with leftovers but he called it slop. This was much prettier than dad's "slop". I agree with other reviewers that the recommended amounts of salt and oil should be reduced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is definitely a man's meal. My husband enjoyed it although he said he would have preferred the sausage grilled first. Don't use very much oil to saute onions because the sausage is really greasy and you won't want any extra! It was good and something I might make again if I don't have much at the house, but not something to go out of my way to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Doyle Lundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I love this recipe! Very hearty and very filling. I have a very similiar version of this recipe that I've been making for years! Sometimes I make a breakfast version and add scrambled eggs and use red potatoes. YUMMY=) I even sometimes make without potatoes and serve over rice!!! Also very yummy=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souza'sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States