Mimi's Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I loved this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Excellent. I used olive oil and one red and one green pepper. I took other reviewers advice and added in the pepper when I stirred in the sausage. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Yum, yum! This is a simple, tasty recipe. My family has enjoyed it twice now. I would suggest leaving out the salt and pepper -- the sausage gives it plenty of salt and seasonings. I also like my peppers to be a little less mushy than the recipe calls for cooking them, so I go along with the advice to add them just before the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Photo by Maryann
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This was extremely delicious. My husband and I both loved it and are looking forward to taking it for lunch tomorrow. I added a FINELY diced habanero pepper for spice when I browned the onion. Also, I added the bell peppers right before the kielbasa which left them still a little crisp which I loved. All in all, wonderful, cheap to make, and will be a repeat in my household. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Loved this one! I relied on the advice of Chikee and Mandy Sue - used olive oil and less of it. Also I let the potatoes cook a little bet before adding the green peppers. Thanks for the great recipe. I will be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I loved this - I only used one green pepper, but added one red pepper. I also used two cloves of garlic, and next time I will cut back on the oil. I added parsley and a bit more salt. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I am always looking for new recipes using kielbasa. This was did not meet my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LECLOS11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luxemburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Wonderful Recipe! I did add 3 cloves of fresh garlic minced (I LOVE Garlic). Used 1 Red & 1 Green Pepper, 1 Red Onion, fresh ground pepper 1/2 teaspoon or to taste, 4 Red potatoes (sliced like potato chips but thicker, and added 1 1/2 tsp Mrs. Dash Italian Medley, 2tsp Parsley (freshly chopped). I did with these specs but times 3 as I needed bigger serving size. I used cast iron skillets and it came out wonderful and very colorful. I recommend changing up the peppers to red, green, yellow, and orange. Not only for color but some peppers are sweeter than others if you want something along the lines of sweetness. Next time I will be cutting back on the oil beings that much oil was not needed, due to the fact that kielbasa is naturally greasy anyhow. If you decide to add the fresh garlic and parsley add with the onions and oil. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Excellent!!! I used turkey kielbasa and quite a bit less oil (just over a tablespoon) and it turned out so yummy. The kielbasa really seasons the potato/onion/green pepper mixture. The only thing I would do differently with this one would be to add the peppers during the last 20 minutes of cooking. They really get pretty soggy and I guess it's just a personal preference to have a more crisp green pepper. Thanks much - this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This was not my kind of recipe. The taste was okay, but it was way too greasy and the bell peppers turned to mush. won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States