Mimi's Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Wonderful Recipe! I did add 3 cloves of fresh garlic minced (I LOVE Garlic). Used 1 Red & 1 Green Pepper, 1 Red Onion, fresh ground pepper 1/2 teaspoon or to taste, 4 Red potatoes (sliced like potato chips but thicker, and added 1 1/2 tsp Mrs. Dash Italian Medley, 2tsp Parsley (freshly chopped). I did with these specs but times 3 as I needed bigger serving size. I used cast iron skillets and it came out wonderful and very colorful. I recommend changing up the peppers to red, green, yellow, and orange. Not only for color but some peppers are sweeter than others if you want something along the lines of sweetness. Next time I will be cutting back on the oil beings that much oil was not needed, due to the fact that kielbasa is naturally greasy anyhow. If you decide to add the fresh garlic and parsley add with the onions and oil. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Excellent!!! I used turkey kielbasa and quite a bit less oil (just over a tablespoon) and it turned out so yummy. The kielbasa really seasons the potato/onion/green pepper mixture. The only thing I would do differently with this one would be to add the peppers during the last 20 minutes of cooking. They really get pretty soggy and I guess it's just a personal preference to have a more crisp green pepper. Thanks much - this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This was not my kind of recipe. The taste was okay, but it was way too greasy and the bell peppers turned to mush. won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Yum Yum Yum! My husband and I loved this recipe! - So simple, we;ll be having this again next week! Added just a tiny sprinkle of cayenne pepper, we like it spicy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This was tasty. I used 1 red and 1 orange pepper. I think a red and a green would be the way to go for appearance. I'd count on at least 1 to 1.25 hours to make this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I add everything all in at once cook uncovered for about 10 minutes or less, then cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Metta Karuna
Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This was very good. Not a drop left over! I made a few changes due to what I had on hand. I used red potatoes leaving the skin on, and I used one green & one red pepper. Oh and I used olive oil instead of vegetable. This will definitely be a repeat in my house. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
YUM YUM! this was excellent. I loved how the flavors went so well together. It was nice and filling. we just had some fresh corn on the side. My kids also loved it. I just added some garlic powder and a bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This was a basic quick dinner for those busy nights. I used red potatoes and left the skin on and microwaved them first to cut down on the cooking time. I used less oil and turkey Kielbasa. I also added frozen peas just before turning off the heat and letting it sit for a few minutes covered before serving. I did not find it amazing- just a simple dinner or lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Thanks for a new way to use kielbasa. My husband called it "Good German food". I liked it for a salty dish, and since it was easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States