Mimi's Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
i turned this into a crock pot dish added Jalapenos and more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Maize

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Loved this! I did change a couple things. First, I used bacon fat I save when I cook bacon , so had it on hand. Lightly fried the potatoes sliced in the bacon fat. Took potatoes out and set aside; then fried the kielbasa a bit, then added the peppers, onion, 2 cloves of garlic. Cook 5 mins. Then return the potatoes to the pepper onion kielbasa combination; cook until the potatoes are tender. I added 4 good shakes of Louisiana hot sauce. Turn off heat and let the flavored meld! Wonderful w/ rice, or w/ eggs, or as a taco or burrito! Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Didn't have peppers, but added chopped mustard spinach from the garden and a drizzle and garlic wine vinegar. Tastes great for a quick weeknight dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This recipe is easy to put together and turned out delicious. I had yellow potatoes, that have soft skins, so I did not peel the potatoes. Because the dish is covered for most of the cooking time, the potatoes will get soft, and not crispy. They worked well in this dish. I served 'KISS: Keep it Simple (Brussels) Sprouts' from AR, homemade applesauce and bread sticks with this meal. This meal would work well to prep ahead and cook later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I love this recipe! We've made this three or four times, and it always comes out fantastic. I always serve this with a perfectly fried egg. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I really like this dish. The potatoes get cooked really nicely with almost a crisp outside. I really like the combo of the potatoes and peppers with the meat. And I usually use turkey kielbasa instead of the beer. I have made this a couple of times and it's a hit with my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
added large clove garlic and touch of minced ginger while onions were cooking sliced the potatoes instead of cubes added a couple tablespoons of maple syrup loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
The only change I made was less oil and multi colored peppers. I used 4 tablespoons of olive oil and I believe I could have used less. Both my husband and I loved it. So flavorful!! I served buttered cabbage with it. Yum!! A definite make-again and again dish! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
My family loved this. Excellenet recipe, Thanks. I also added 3 cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is just like my mom used to make. Husband and picky 3 year old loved it too.(Although 3 year old left the peppers on her plate, as i always did as a kid) I used one red and one green. Had a little trouble getting the potatoes to cook without burning everything, i put in a little water and covered the pan worked great and the dish was not runny. I also did not use all of the oil, just a table spoon of olive oil. I too followed advice of others and boiled the kielbasa for 30-40 minutes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States