Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
These were great muffins! My family enjoyed these for breakfast this morning - and gobbled them all up! They really were "giant", easy to make, tasty and moist. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing this recipe Mimi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Loved this recipe. I used olive oil instead of vegetable and also made regular size muffins. They were fabulous and the kiddos loved them. Next time I think I will use fresh strawberries though, because the frozen were very tart. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Mimi, Love this recipe - no refined white four and sugar: sweetened only with brown sugar and fruit. 1/4 cup of oil instead of butter or margarine, very healthy!!! this makes a delicious breakfasr on the go, or mid-afternoon snack. Keep up the heart healthy eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
Really good! I made mini-muffins, and used fresh strawberries(chopped). Kids and husband loved them. Make a bunch a head of time for those mornings with no time to eat a good breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSchritter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
These muffins were really moist (although the batter seemed overly dry before the strawberries were added). I thought there was too much Cinnamon and I like Cinnamon. Will probably make these again using less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
These are delicious! Perfect for breakfast. To cut the fat even further, I replaced all of the oil with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Fabulous! The best whole grain muffin I've tried. The first time I made them, I used fresh strawberries, but they pretty much disintegrated in the baking process--still tasted great. The second time, I used blueberries instead of the strawberries and they held up much better and were just as delicious! They freeze well. I take one out before bed and it's ready the next morning for breakfast on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
These were certainly not what I thought they would be. I had used fresh strawberries instead of frozen which managed to turn the muffins into globs of goo, despite the extra baking time for regular sized muffins. Not overly tasty either. But I do like the whole wheat flour and addition of applesauce! Maybe blueberries would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Fantastic! So tasty, and super simple to make. This recipe is going to be a favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
I cut the vegetable oil down to 2 tablespoons, and used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and large bananas. My muffins were very moist and delicious, not too sweet. I also used fresh strawberries, and they worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States