Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Thanks for a great healthy recipe! Seriously they smell as good as they taste. I didn't have strawberries so I used the black berries and raspberries that I had on hand and needed to use up. I also made a crumble topping with an instant low sodium reduced fat brown sugar oatmeal packet and a little butter, I just mashed it together with a fork and put it on the tops of the muffins while baking. The whole house smelled amazing and they really turned out light fluffy moist and fantastic! The kids literally were crowding around the oven waiting for a muffin! What a great breakfast or snack. The second time I tried blueberries that also went over very well, and I used the same method for topping with whole grain oats and butter crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
These were deliciously moist and dense, makes for a great get-up-and-go breakfast. My husband and father-in-law enjoyed them too. I think I'll take note of what another said and make a banana bread loaf like this! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Great healthy recipe! Made these for my hubby who never has time for breakfast in the morning... I omitted the strawberries (only because I did not have them on hand), and another reviewer had mentioned, substituting yogurt for the applesauce - I substituted the applesauce with kefir, and kept everything else the same. Turned out wonderful. Next time I will add strawberries and reduce sugar to 1/2 cup. Delicious and healthy. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made these as a sugar free recipe substituting about one-half cup agave for the brown sugar. Turned out great - not too sweet but sweet enough. I will be making them often. Lovely texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I did not find these moist. I like the fact that they are relatively healthy with little oil and whole wheat flour but did not find the flavor inviting. Disappointed after the other reviews were so grand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Kids LOVED it, even made 12 mini muffins too. Next time I will likely puree the strawberries as I used whole strawberries and then sliced them myself. I will NOT use muffin liners either, they kinda stick and you lose some muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Great muffin. I used a cup of fresh strawberries chopped into pieces instead of the frozen sliced. I also added in a handful of wheat germ and 1/4 cup of light sour cream. My kids loved them and they are healthy...what more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Surprisingly moist for a whole-wheat muffin. Not too sweet, so it's perfect for a breakfast muffin. I reduced the cinnamon to 2 tsp. and I thought that was enough cinnamon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimsyl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Made these while I had family staying with us and everyone ate two! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
These were really good. I liked the flavor combination. I used fresh strawberries and they got a bit mushy after sitting, but they still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States