Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
They are delicious!! I love them so much :) I subbed out all but 1tbsp of oil for nonfat strawberry yogurt and they turned out big and moist and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
These were so wonderful. My husband loves them for work. I add a cup of oats just to make them a bit more filling. I make these all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjennamichele

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
My kids love these muffins. I do not make them giant - I get 2 dozen regular sized muffins. Put them in an ziplock and into the freezer. I also subbed yogurt for applesauce and added an extra pinch of baking soda. Regarding not being moist-try adding a little extra fruit. Thanks for a great healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Tasted ok the first day. They definitely tasted 'healthy' and the strawberry flavor was not at all detectable. But on the second day, they were dry and hard to eat. I stored them airtight too. Ended up being a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Thanks for a great healthy recipe! Seriously they smell as good as they taste. I didn't have strawberries so I used the black berries and raspberries that I had on hand and needed to use up. I also made a crumble topping with an instant low sodium reduced fat brown sugar oatmeal packet and a little butter, I just mashed it together with a fork and put it on the tops of the muffins while baking. The whole house smelled amazing and they really turned out light fluffy moist and fantastic! The kids literally were crowding around the oven waiting for a muffin! What a great breakfast or snack. The second time I tried blueberries that also went over very well, and I used the same method for topping with whole grain oats and butter crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
These were deliciously moist and dense, makes for a great get-up-and-go breakfast. My husband and father-in-law enjoyed them too. I think I'll take note of what another said and make a banana bread loaf like this! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Great healthy recipe! Made these for my hubby who never has time for breakfast in the morning... I omitted the strawberries (only because I did not have them on hand), and another reviewer had mentioned, substituting yogurt for the applesauce - I substituted the applesauce with kefir, and kept everything else the same. Turned out wonderful. Next time I will add strawberries and reduce sugar to 1/2 cup. Delicious and healthy. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made these as a sugar free recipe substituting about one-half cup agave for the brown sugar. Turned out great - not too sweet but sweet enough. I will be making them often. Lovely texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I did not find these moist. I like the fact that they are relatively healthy with little oil and whole wheat flour but did not find the flavor inviting. Disappointed after the other reviews were so grand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Kids LOVED it, even made 12 mini muffins too. Next time I will likely puree the strawberries as I used whole strawberries and then sliced them myself. I will NOT use muffin liners either, they kinda stick and you lose some muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States