Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
My kids love these muffins. I do not make them giant - I get 2 dozen regular sized muffins. Put them in an ziplock and into the freezer. I also subbed yogurt for applesauce and added an extra pinch of baking soda. Regarding not being moist-try adding a little extra fruit. Thanks for a great healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Tasted ok the first day. They definitely tasted 'healthy' and the strawberry flavor was not at all detectable. But on the second day, they were dry and hard to eat. I stored them airtight too. Ended up being a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Thanks for a great healthy recipe! Seriously they smell as good as they taste. I didn't have strawberries so I used the black berries and raspberries that I had on hand and needed to use up. I also made a crumble topping with an instant low sodium reduced fat brown sugar oatmeal packet and a little butter, I just mashed it together with a fork and put it on the tops of the muffins while baking. The whole house smelled amazing and they really turned out light fluffy moist and fantastic! The kids literally were crowding around the oven waiting for a muffin! What a great breakfast or snack. The second time I tried blueberries that also went over very well, and I used the same method for topping with whole grain oats and butter crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
These were deliciously moist and dense, makes for a great get-up-and-go breakfast. My husband and father-in-law enjoyed them too. I think I'll take note of what another said and make a banana bread loaf like this! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Great healthy recipe! Made these for my hubby who never has time for breakfast in the morning... I omitted the strawberries (only because I did not have them on hand), and another reviewer had mentioned, substituting yogurt for the applesauce - I substituted the applesauce with kefir, and kept everything else the same. Turned out wonderful. Next time I will add strawberries and reduce sugar to 1/2 cup. Delicious and healthy. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made these as a sugar free recipe substituting about one-half cup agave for the brown sugar. Turned out great - not too sweet but sweet enough. I will be making them often. Lovely texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I did not find these moist. I like the fact that they are relatively healthy with little oil and whole wheat flour but did not find the flavor inviting. Disappointed after the other reviews were so grand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Kids LOVED it, even made 12 mini muffins too. Next time I will likely puree the strawberries as I used whole strawberries and then sliced them myself. I will NOT use muffin liners either, they kinda stick and you lose some muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Great muffin. I used a cup of fresh strawberries chopped into pieces instead of the frozen sliced. I also added in a handful of wheat germ and 1/4 cup of light sour cream. My kids loved them and they are healthy...what more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Surprisingly moist for a whole-wheat muffin. Not too sweet, so it's perfect for a breakfast muffin. I reduced the cinnamon to 2 tsp. and I thought that was enough cinnamon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimsyl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States