Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is a simple and delicious recipe just begging to be elaborated upon. I skipped the third banana in favor of about 1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt, minced fresh strawberries (instead of the frozen sliced), and added a couple tablespoons of ground flax seed for increased fiber, protein, and Omega-3s. I think next time I will reduce the sugar by just a bit, because they were definitely sweet enough and that is the only health improvement I can see to make on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I've made these twice now. The first time, I followed the recipie, and they were good. This time, I changed it up, and they are SOOOO yummy!! I used 1 cup whole wheat flower, 1/2 cup white flour, and 1/2 cup oatmeal. I also used 1 cup of blueberries, in place of the strawberries. I chopped the blueberries up in the processor, which seemed to work out really well. (My kids do not like biting into big pieces of blueberries in muffins, so I've learned to chop them up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This recipe tastes too healthy for me...it wasn't sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly. The flavor of the muffin was ok but the sliced strawberries shrunk in the baking process and left my muffins with huge cavities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
As wholesome as you can get with a muffin. Delicious and nutritious! I double my batch and used blueberries instead of strawberries, they turned out so well! These are a great snack for youngsters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Other than the slightly-soggy consistency the strawberries leave, I enjoyed the final product. I used this as a way to have people sample "whole wheat" items and the group seemed to really enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Very good. For the true giant muffins I needed more time in the oven, possibly needs a touch more flour. But taste was very good. Just threw a handfull of freeze dried strawberries in. Next time will chop the strawberries finer instead of slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
The worsed muffins I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sleaupepe
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe is delicious! I followed what the person below suggested and it turned out great! I will have easy fast breakfast for a while now! Just pick one up and go! Yummyyy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
i wanted to only give these 3 stars because i really didn't enjoy the 'spice' taste of them but realized that was kind of silly as i knew the ingredients going in; i'm more of a sweet flavor lover. anyway, my neighbor thought they were great and that you could taste the strawberries and bananas (i didn't think so). but they were moist, the 2 cups of fresh diced strawberries held up, the muffins rose nicely and they were filling. i think i enjoyed them more warm out of the oven. only used 2 bananas, added the 1/2 cup of oats and only used on tsp of cinnamon as others suggested. used a 6 oz. cup of lite vanilla flavored yogurt instead of oil since i'd never tried that before. overall, a success. a piece of advice: if you accidentally break your eggs in the bowl before mashing the bananas, don't think you can just mash them in the egg. doesn't work that well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States