Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Bananas and applesauce are great egg replacers by themselves and with the combination they make the eggs 100% unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by awebbchic
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I loved these muffins! Everyone in the house enjoyed them. They are a great alternative to processed sugar treats. Plus, I am always looking for a way to use overly ripe bananas in the kitchen. Oh, I did use fresh strawberries instead of frozen, still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awebbchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Moist but needs more banana flavor. My changes: 2 eggs, 1/2c vanilla lowfat yogurt, 1/4c veg oil, 3/4c light brown sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 2 bananas, 2c white flour, 1tsp b.soda, 1/2tsp salt, 1/2T cinnamon, 1 1/2c sliced fresh strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
A little bland in my opinion...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
These are INCREDIBLE! Came across this recipe as I was looking for a banana bread/muffin recipe that also used only whole wheat flour. The only thing I may have changed was that I maybe added an extra 1/2 cup of strawberries inadvertently in order to use the entire container I had purchased :) Warm, these muffins taste like a slightly sweeter, fruiter version of a bran muffin (no problem I my book!) But I went to have 2 for a quick breakfast on a busy morning, and WOW! Tastes light healthy banana bread with a strawberry kick- SO yummy! My boyfriend adores them as well, so I have a feeling that I'll def make these again!! I may try and experiment with adding some sort of whey powder or other protein source to these in the future (I'm training & like to keep a strong protein intake), but this recipe is perfect as is! Highly recommend!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Yum, these are tasty! To make them more figure friendly & heart healthy I substituted in eggs beaters, canola oil, used only a half cup of agave instead of sugar, had fresh strawberries and blueberries in the frig so added a cup of each. As another review suggested, I added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg as well. LOVE these muffins. Hubs had three for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
WAS VERY DRY, even doing what other reviewers suggested. not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nannaluvsgrands

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Tried this recipe in an effort to eat healthier. I substituted the brown sugar with agave nectar and used fresh strawberries instead. It was delicious! One thing, the strawberries made the muffin a little too soggy so will try dried fruit next time instead. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
For whole wheat, they were pretty good. Obviously not as light as regular muffins; my family said they were good, but wanted my 'other ones' next time. Great if you're on a diet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is a simple and delicious recipe just begging to be elaborated upon. I skipped the third banana in favor of about 1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt, minced fresh strawberries (instead of the frozen sliced), and added a couple tablespoons of ground flax seed for increased fiber, protein, and Omega-3s. I think next time I will reduce the sugar by just a bit, because they were definitely sweet enough and that is the only health improvement I can see to make on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States