Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Yum, these are tasty! To make them more figure friendly & heart healthy I substituted in eggs beaters, canola oil, used only a half cup of agave instead of sugar, had fresh strawberries and blueberries in the frig so added a cup of each. As another review suggested, I added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg as well. LOVE these muffins. Hubs had three for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
WAS VERY DRY, even doing what other reviewers suggested. not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nannaluvsgrands

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Tried this recipe in an effort to eat healthier. I substituted the brown sugar with agave nectar and used fresh strawberries instead. It was delicious! One thing, the strawberries made the muffin a little too soggy so will try dried fruit next time instead. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
For whole wheat, they were pretty good. Obviously not as light as regular muffins; my family said they were good, but wanted my 'other ones' next time. Great if you're on a diet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is a simple and delicious recipe just begging to be elaborated upon. I skipped the third banana in favor of about 1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt, minced fresh strawberries (instead of the frozen sliced), and added a couple tablespoons of ground flax seed for increased fiber, protein, and Omega-3s. I think next time I will reduce the sugar by just a bit, because they were definitely sweet enough and that is the only health improvement I can see to make on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I've made these twice now. The first time, I followed the recipie, and they were good. This time, I changed it up, and they are SOOOO yummy!! I used 1 cup whole wheat flower, 1/2 cup white flour, and 1/2 cup oatmeal. I also used 1 cup of blueberries, in place of the strawberries. I chopped the blueberries up in the processor, which seemed to work out really well. (My kids do not like biting into big pieces of blueberries in muffins, so I've learned to chop them up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This recipe tastes too healthy for me...it wasn't sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly. The flavor of the muffin was ok but the sliced strawberries shrunk in the baking process and left my muffins with huge cavities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
As wholesome as you can get with a muffin. Delicious and nutritious! I double my batch and used blueberries instead of strawberries, they turned out so well! These are a great snack for youngsters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Other than the slightly-soggy consistency the strawberries leave, I enjoyed the final product. I used this as a way to have people sample "whole wheat" items and the group seemed to really enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States