Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I was impressed by how delicious these muffins were! I am usually annoyed by recipes that use applesauce to replace oil, but this recipe has some oil and it actually tastes better with the applesauce (I tried replacing half of the applesauce with oil and it wasn't as good). I usually double the strawberries, but one time I didn't have enough strawberries to double so I added in blueberries and it was just as good :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I loved the texture of these muffins but 1 Tbsp of cinnamon is WAY too much. Next time I'll half the amount and then I'm sure they'll be perfect. I didn't have strawberries so I used frozen blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe. I followed what some users suggested and put about 1.5 tsp of organic cinnamon. I also reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup, and 1 and 3/4 cups of all purpose flour and 1/4 cup of ground flax seeds. Next time I'll do 1.5 cups of flour and .5 cup of ground flax. I used melted coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and instead of frozen I used fresh strawberries, sliced. Next time I'll put 1.5 cups of diced strawberries, for a more even distribution. All in all they taste delicious, they're super moist, and not too sweet (just the way I like it!) and most importantly, they're a much healthier alternative to buying a pastry from Timmy's or Sbux!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as described, and WOW, these were the best muffins I've ever eaten...have been switching over to whole grains while also doing more whole foods cooking, and this will definitely become a weekly staple in my household...thanks for the fantastic recipe, no modifacations needed!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I am always looking for a healthier muffin and was delighted to find this recipe. I've never had strawberries in a muffin before and was pleased with the results. These muffins are moist and delicious. I used half the oil and next time I think I will use half of the sugar. So glad I found this recipe. Thank you Mimi! p.s, they didn't last long in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
We enjoyed this so much! Best whole wheat muffin I've had so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Don't listen to the negative reviews, these muffins are the best I've ever made... And the healthiest. Instead of eggs, I used generic Egg Beaters, instead of oil I used more apple sauce and instead of brown sugar I used generic Splenda brown sugar mixture (1/2 cup). I also added a half teaspoon of salt and an additional half teaspoon of allspice. One other tip: chop your strawberries into tiny bits and mix them into the flour mix BEFORE adding the bananas + wet mixture. This will help ensure that your strawberries don't sink and that each muffin contains an even amount of strawberries. Also, I used really giant muffin tins and got only six (6) muffins, not 12 as the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made 24 mini-muffins and 12 regular size muffins from this recipe. Baked the mini muffins for 10 minutes and the regular size for 15, both on convection bake. Love the flavor the strawberries add. I think I'll add chopped pecans next time. Everything is better with nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Used frozen blueberries and made them in mini bundt pans. Good, a little chewy, but I can overlook that with a little cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I have made these muffins several times now and they always turn out great. I cut back on the brown sugar but other than that, I keep the recipie the same. I cool the muffins and then freeze them. I take one out each morning and put in a bag to thaw for a mid morning snack while I am at work. Super moist and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by npaulus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States