Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I suggest reducing the amount of cinnamon to 1/2 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
i can't say i'd make these this way again. they were dry (& i was careful not to over mix the batter), and very bland, mostly i tasted cinnamon. i would suggest using 1/2 white flour and maybe even reducing the flour by 1/4 cup, or adding 1/4 cup of o.j. but my 1 yr old just gobbled up an entire muffin and loved it, plus, they're healthy, and i think they'd taste better with a dab of butter on them, so i'll give them 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Made these yesterday. I give it 4 stars because I found the muffin itself had a big lack in flavour. If you get a piece of a strawberry in your mouth, then it tastes okay. But those "plain" parts of the muffin were seriously in need of something more. I think the muffin overall is not sweet enough. I would either add more brown sugar or add white sugar. I wasn't looking for these to be super healthy, so I don't mind adding a little more sugar. Even another banana or so wouldn't have helped. I'm not a banana-strawberry lover but I liked these because you can't taste the banana too much. Overall I liked these muffins because of texture and appearance. They cooked for 20 minutes, like the recipe says. I probably used more than the one cup of strawberries (maybe 1 1/4 cups), and I also used fresh ones that I cut up into quarters. The strawberries do get mushy after cooking, so I would suggest cutting them even smaller if you don't like mushy in your muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
we love it! diced instead od chopped fresh strawberrys. used 1/3 c.lowfat vanilla yogurt instead of the oil.had cinnamon already in the applesauce so I didnt add more. used 1 1/2 whole wheat graham flour and 1/2 c wheat germ. I think next time I will decrease the sugar amount a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
These were moist and yummy...and quick. Great recipe to make with a little one. Used fresh stawberries and this likely offset the sweetness, as they were just sweet enough. Thanks for the recipe, Mimi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
not at all what i was hoping...what did i do wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
YUM! I just gotta say, I was kinda disappointed when I tried it warm, but this morning, cooled off, they were wonderful! I used all applesauce, and 1 cup AP flour, 1 cup ground oats (oatmeal ground in spice grinder to a flour). I also used fresh strawberries. Just as other people said, you couldn't really taste the strawberries... maybe I would add another banana or blueberries next time. Either way this is a great healthy recipe that's helping me keep to my diet! Moist and delicious, and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Used all applesauce instead of any oil. Added extra fresh strawberries. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WatneFam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These are really yummy, but I would use .5 ww flour and .5 white. Mash strawberries. They will make about 16 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly (although I did mash the strawberries) and it was AMAZING! They are sweet- but not too much- and are super moist! They will definitely become a staple in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States