Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe. We used white flour instead of the wheat and it still came out great! Flavorful and moist muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I, like ashleyco, used 1/2 tbsp cinnamon. I didn't have nutmeg on hand so I used 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice. I also replaced the applesauce with plain yogurt, and replaced the oil with applesauce as suggested. I also didn't have brown sugar on hand so I used 3/4 c white granulated sugar. I figured the lack of being packed meant I was using less sugar and I was okay with that. When you make these substitutions it ends up being about 180 calories per muffin, which is pretty awesome. I didn't mash the strawberries, which I recommend and will do next time around. I was worried that I had hyped myself up over these too much and that they wouldn't live up to expectations. They totally did however =D They're moist and super tasty and with the edits, not too much spice at all. Perfect actually - I'd recommend the pumpkin pie spice over nutmeg alone to add more dimension. I didn't find them bland at all. I froze the rest of my batch as someone else said they did- for mine, I wrapped them individually in plastic wrap and stuck them in a freezer bag. I'm excited to have these for breakfast, maybe with some yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
These are great! I substituted blueberries and made mini muffins instead of large muffins. Even people who don't like "healthy food" thought these were moist and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
super muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I made these a long time ago and just realized I never reviewed them. Here I am making them again, because they are so good. I follow the recipe, only using fresh strawberries rather than frozen. These turn out beautifully and taste great. I love the combination of banana and strawberry and I think this recipe would work well with almost any other fruit as well. Great flavor, and moist without being 'pasty'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
So easy to make. I used a lot of variations suggested by others: used plain yogurt in lieu of bananas and applesauce since I had neither, and added some nutmeg as well as wheat germ. Needed a little more sweetness; i might try regular sugar next time. But super easy and still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
These are really good for using all whole wheat flour. I actually didn't use banana, instead I threw in some fresh blueberries. I should have added a little more applesauce to make up for the lost banana moisture. I was really impressed with these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
These turned out fantastic - I cut the sugar a bit by not firmly packing it (because my bannanas were very ripe) but they are still quite sweet. I think next time I would cut the sugar a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I added chocolate chips, and would add more strawberries. Was a delicious, beautiful, delicate looking (thanks to the strawberries) muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States