Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
These are really good! I replaced the oil with more apple sauce and put about a tablespoon of oil in the batter just to make them even more guilt free! The strawberries I had were not frozen, but they turned out just fine, I think I could have even added a little more flour because of the extra moisture from them. Excellente!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I wanted a banana bread recipe low in fat and made with whole wheat flour and found this one. Of course, I tweaked on it a bit. I omitted the oil, strawberries and applesauce, put in 1-1/2 tsp. of cinnamon instead of 1 Tbsp., then I added 3/4 C. of vanilla yogurt. I baked in a bread pan at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. My family really loved this. Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I'm not sure what it was, but no one in my family liked these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I made mine into mini banana loaves and they were amazing! I added chocolate chips but will add sunflower seeds next time to give it a bit of crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Tsuji

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe. We used white flour instead of the wheat and it still came out great! Flavorful and moist muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I, like ashleyco, used 1/2 tbsp cinnamon. I didn't have nutmeg on hand so I used 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice. I also replaced the applesauce with plain yogurt, and replaced the oil with applesauce as suggested. I also didn't have brown sugar on hand so I used 3/4 c white granulated sugar. I figured the lack of being packed meant I was using less sugar and I was okay with that. When you make these substitutions it ends up being about 180 calories per muffin, which is pretty awesome. I didn't mash the strawberries, which I recommend and will do next time around. I was worried that I had hyped myself up over these too much and that they wouldn't live up to expectations. They totally did however =D They're moist and super tasty and with the edits, not too much spice at all. Perfect actually - I'd recommend the pumpkin pie spice over nutmeg alone to add more dimension. I didn't find them bland at all. I froze the rest of my batch as someone else said they did- for mine, I wrapped them individually in plastic wrap and stuck them in a freezer bag. I'm excited to have these for breakfast, maybe with some yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
These are great! I substituted blueberries and made mini muffins instead of large muffins. Even people who don't like "healthy food" thought these were moist and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
super muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I made these a long time ago and just realized I never reviewed them. Here I am making them again, because they are so good. I follow the recipe, only using fresh strawberries rather than frozen. These turn out beautifully and taste great. I love the combination of banana and strawberry and I think this recipe would work well with almost any other fruit as well. Great flavor, and moist without being 'pasty'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
So easy to make. I used a lot of variations suggested by others: used plain yogurt in lieu of bananas and applesauce since I had neither, and added some nutmeg as well as wheat germ. Needed a little more sweetness; i might try regular sugar next time. But super easy and still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States