Mimi's Eggplant Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Corey
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I used crushed crackers for my top just becuase it was what I had on hand. Mine came out a little watery so make sure you drain that eggplant REALLY REALLY well! Otherwise it tasted great. Personally I'd add more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Not 4 because i changed it a little to what i had lying around...instead of cream of mushroom i used cream of celery and as others suggested i used corn bread batter, for which i spiced up with a lil cayenne pepper and cinnamon. Overall I really liked this...i didnt know what to expect but i was very nice and make good left overs!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newfoodie-Rell
Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by diva7
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Thought this recipe was pretty good. The texture wasn't the best, but like another reviewer said, I will try and squeeze more water out of the eggplant next time. Has a stuffingy taste which is good. Even used leftovers as a side (better the next day). PS I also just poured the corn bread batter over top and it cooked nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I found this recipe to be quite tasteful. Didnt have cornbread so I substituted cornbread stuffing mix. I dont see that this is an unhealthy dish as per other reviewers opinions. Also eggplant tends to take on the other flavours in a dish such as this. and my husband liked it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ridgeway, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was absolutely the best! My husband loved it and he is by far no eggplant fan. I made it as is and will do that over and over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was wonderful. Worthy of a holiday meal and a definite crowd pleaser. I liked it a lot with cheddar but next time will try it with swiss since that is our favorite cheese. I'm for sure adding it to my Thanksgiving menu. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This is really excellent. I have to admit I was a bit surprised at how good this dish actually is, given that the ingredients all seemed to me to be a bit less than inspiring. But put them all together and, wow! I'm also not a big fan of cheddar cheese, but have found that this dish works just as well substituting chopped or grated swiss cheese. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Just okay. I was excited to try it, but you can barely taste the eggplant. Maybe next time I'll try to get a larger eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I was going to leave the mushroom soup out but then I decided at the last minute to run to the store and get it. To me this was a fatal mistake. It smelled so good before I put the mushroom soup in. In my opinion, if you're going to fix unhealthy vegetables, it better be really yummy. I did not find this good at all and my husband wouldn't touch it. Sorry. If I fix it again I will fix it without the mushroom soup and with less sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thomson, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I made this recipe because I had an eggplant going bad and had all these ingredients. I poured batter over the top rather than crumbs... used less cheese. This was tasty, but the eggplant was drowned out and I feel there are better ways to accentuate its flavor. Also this is a really unhealthy way to eat a healthy food! Anyway, good recipe, but won't make this again. Thanks Mimi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States