Mimi's Eggplant Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Great way to use up eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Be sure to drain & use paper towels to thoroughly dry the eggplant after cooking. Use only regular, not low salt cream of mushroom soup. I use the " Jiffy" corn bread mix in the blue box. Mix according to box instructions , then pour on top of the casserole & bake, Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
My $.02.... Didn't want mushy. That type of veggie casserole HAS caused my husband 40 years of hating summer squash. So I humbly suggest the following adaptation. Place eggplant, spices and cubed butter in 13x9 glass dish (oiled), and microwave for 6 min. Use half can soup add eggs and cheese. Spread mixture over eggplant. Pour jiffy cornbread batter over top smoothed out casserole and bake for 8 fewer minutes than suggested. Dish has texture of grilled portabellas. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I picked a large and medium eggplant from my garden. I still used recommended portions on ingredients. However instead of boiling the eggplant, I steamed it. Less water to get out that way! I also didn't use quite a full can of soup. I divided it in half (before spices). Half I cooked with oregano, savory & thyme, and the other I cooked with curry & tumeric. They are both wonderful!!! I did not use the cornbread at all. I want to freeze the extra. I will add bread crumbs or extra cheese when I reheat them. The flavor is great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I thought this was incredibly bland and dry. I will not be making this again. But, hey, you win some and lose some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Hendrickson
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Eating it as I review! After reading some reviews I too tweaked recipe. I halved the ingredients except for the eggplant and the seasoning. I added mushrooms used parmesan and bread crumbs only bc that's what I had. All worked very well. I bit running but not too bad at all! Thanks Mimi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
We really enjoyed this recipe. In addition to the eggplant, we added a bunch of fresh spinach and used cream of celery soup. My husband is Indian, so to find compromise in traditional American casseroles recipes, he adds the spices to the flavor/spiciness that he prefers. So with this recipe, we added Cayenne pepper, curry, turmeric, and tomato spice. We baked the cornbread batter on top of the casserole and it was good. We both got out of this recipe what we both wanted: Me - casserole, cheese, and cornbread, Husband - Indian spices & fresh eggplant and spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This dish was superb. I left out the sage and other more exotic spices and resorted to plain old comfort seasonings. I added a bit of chicken broth as well but was careful not to make it to "liquidy". My family loved it and so did our neighbors. I've made it a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramon
Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by snowrose
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Very good! I didn't use the cornbread topping. I also added chicken to it! Turned out awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carver, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
My husband and I really liked this casserole. My 2yr old son however did not. We think he didn't like the texture of everything. I didn't drain all of the water out of the eggplant. I added another cup of cheese and another cut 1/2 cup of the corn bread. Turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States