Mimi's Eggplant Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I picked a large and medium eggplant from my garden. I still used recommended portions on ingredients. However instead of boiling the eggplant, I steamed it. Less water to get out that way! I also didn't use quite a full can of soup. I divided it in half (before spices). Half I cooked with oregano, savory & thyme, and the other I cooked with curry & tumeric. They are both wonderful!!! I did not use the cornbread at all. I want to freeze the extra. I will add bread crumbs or extra cheese when I reheat them. The flavor is great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I thought this was incredibly bland and dry. I will not be making this again. But, hey, you win some and lose some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emziepie
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Eating it as I review! After reading some reviews I too tweaked recipe. I halved the ingredients except for the eggplant and the seasoning. I added mushrooms used parmesan and bread crumbs only bc that's what I had. All worked very well. I bit running but not too bad at all! Thanks Mimi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
We really enjoyed this recipe. In addition to the eggplant, we added a bunch of fresh spinach and used cream of celery soup. My husband is Indian, so to find compromise in traditional American casseroles recipes, he adds the spices to the flavor/spiciness that he prefers. So with this recipe, we added Cayenne pepper, curry, turmeric, and tomato spice. We baked the cornbread batter on top of the casserole and it was good. We both got out of this recipe what we both wanted: Me - casserole, cheese, and cornbread, Husband - Indian spices & fresh eggplant and spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This dish was superb. I left out the sage and other more exotic spices and resorted to plain old comfort seasonings. I added a bit of chicken broth as well but was careful not to make it to "liquidy". My family loved it and so did our neighbors. I've made it a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramon
Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by snowrose
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Very good! I didn't use the cornbread topping. I also added chicken to it! Turned out awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carver, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
My husband and I really liked this casserole. My 2yr old son however did not. We think he didn't like the texture of everything. I didn't drain all of the water out of the eggplant. I added another cup of cheese and another cut 1/2 cup of the corn bread. Turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Corey
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I used crushed crackers for my top just becuase it was what I had on hand. Mine came out a little watery so make sure you drain that eggplant REALLY REALLY well! Otherwise it tasted great. Personally I'd add more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Not 4 because i changed it a little to what i had lying around...instead of cream of mushroom i used cream of celery and as others suggested i used corn bread batter, for which i spiced up with a lil cayenne pepper and cinnamon. Overall I really liked this...i didnt know what to expect but i was very nice and make good left overs!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newfoodie-Rell
Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by diva7
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Thought this recipe was pretty good. The texture wasn't the best, but like another reviewer said, I will try and squeeze more water out of the eggplant next time. Has a stuffingy taste which is good. Even used leftovers as a side (better the next day). PS I also just poured the corn bread batter over top and it cooked nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States