Mimi's Curried Hawaiian Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Excellent recipe. Did add a bit of honey as suggested. Used red, green and black grapes and bedded it on greens in a trifle bowl. Looked very pretty. cookiegirl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I halved this recipe, then I made this without the water chestnuts, with red instead of green grapes, and sliced instead of slivered almonds. I loved it, and so did my coworkers! It was perfect for an office luncheon- served with saltines! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
absolutely gorgeous! So easy to make and easy to adapt to your own taste, I left out celery for instance. I'm defo going to make a load of this for parents anniversay buffet next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Incredible! My kids devoured this quicker than a candy bar! I used fresh pineapple and used the shell as a serving dish (fancy presentation & easy clean up!) I used walnuts as I did not have almonds on hand and it was awesome! I served it with fresh crescent rolls from the bakery so everyone could make their own sandwich. Can't wait to make this for a party! I am addicted! THANK YOU FOR A GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami & Shane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I love this salad! I have made it several times, and it is one of my new favorites! Its a beautiful presentation and is sure to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Oh Yes!! This is the best chicken salad recipe Ever! All the flavors work beautifully together, and it comes together fairly quickly. Everyone asks for the recipe when you make this chicken salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I gave this recipe a 5 star rating because of quite a few modifications. Without modifications, it gets a 2. First, this makes a ton so half the recipe. From there, add a teaspoon of paprika along with listed ingredients. Add at least 1 tablespoon of honey, more if you like. Add about 1 teaspoon of yellow mustard, and instead of almonds, add a Tablespoon of poppy seeds. Oh yeah, double the curry. I did not add pinapple, but i've had chicken salad that way and really liked it. With these changes it will be yummy, but it is even better the next day as it says in the recipe. The curry flavor is more pronounced the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilovemykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sioux Center, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I made this for a baby shower and everyone absolutely raved about it. I did not change a single ingredient (except for using red grapes instead of green) and think this is the way I will make curried chicken salad from now on. I make curried chicken salad every summer and have tried many different recipes but this is by far my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I love this recipe. Whenever I make it, it's a hit. My only changes are to omit water chestnuts (I usually don't have them on hand) and baking rather than poaching the chicken. It's easily scaled for a smaller group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coplay, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I really liked the addition of pineapple in this salad. I also love curry but found it was too overpowering in this. Next time I would use a lot less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States