Milly's Oatmeal Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Even though in the recipe I say to add your choice of ingredients... (choc chips, nuts, raisins, toffee bits, etc.) the truth is that I personally prefer them with NOTHING. I love to eat them in the morning with a nice cup of creamy latte or cappuccino. That way I can enjoy the flavor of the oatmeal.... YUMMMM I am very happy you are enjoying my recipe and thanks to everyone for posting a review!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
So good it makes you want to say it with your mouth full! I halved the recipe, used an 8X8 pan, added some pecans and some milk chocolate chips. I didn't over do it though because I really wanted to taste the oatmeal in them, which I love. I predict my husband and I will *magically* make them dissapear in the next two hours. Thanks Milly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
The bars are baking right now but I just had to comment that the batter itself was great. I actually just added some ginger powder and semisweet chocolate chips. I think it will be a winner. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This seemed more like a bar cookie rather than a 'brownie', but it doesn't matter...this tasted great! I used butter flavored shortening, mini chocolate chips and chopped pecans (just used what I had in the house). I also baked it a little differently; 20 min at 350, the middle was still soft so I lowered the temperature to 325 and baked it for another 8 minutes so I would not have burned edges. This worked PERFECTLY-center baked and edges still soft. This recipe really can take on different flavors depending on the add ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
the batter was great the cooked batch was better. They are great, i put chopped apple, craisins, chopped walnuts, and chopped banana, awsome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
These are amazing! So quick and easy to throw together and wonderfully moist and chewy. I added milk chocolate chips, no nuts or raisins since they were made for a function and I was worried about nut allergies and raisin haters! I left only one on the table for my hubby and he was ticked that's all he got! Excellent. Addendum: I made these again today, and once again they deserve 5 stars! This time I put in a handful of chopped walnuts and some mini chocolate chips. I love these with or without the optional items. Thank you Milly for sharing this recipe, love these 'brownies'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by Angie Seaman
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Delicious! Great texture, easy to make, and would be the good base for a lot of variations. Next time I think I'll try toffee bits and milk chocolate chips. And I think they'd be delicious without any chips added but with a teaspoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These are simply delicious! They are sweet and chewy! I added chocolate chips and coconut. A real KEEPER for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Excellent chewy brownie! These were rich and so delicious. I had to bake them quite a bit longer though as they were still gooey and underdone after 25 minutes. This was very difficult to spread in the floured pan though. I would skip the flouring step next time and just use non stick spray. I added 1 c of semi sweet chocolate chips. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I've been preparing this recipe for two years. Raving reviews from friends. Great texture. I use rolled oats, not instant. For a smoother texture you can used instant, or grind some or all of the oats in a food processor. I also use whole wheat flour. I have made it with lots of flavor variations. Some of the favorites were: ginger, red chile and diced dried mango pieces; ground almond, almond extract, orange zest, dried cranberries and white morsels; pecan and chocolate chips; chopped salted pistachios, dark chocolate and cardamom; raisins, chopped walnuts, cinnamon; shredded coconut, almond flakes and cocoa powder; etc. Can't go wrong. I recommend smoothing the batter in the pan, and letting them cool completely before cutting them up. Freezes nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States