Milly's Oatmeal Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Excellent recipe! I followed the instructions as given, but I used white chocolate chips and Zante currants instead of the other options listed. The dough tasted heavenly -- very nice vanilla flavor. I tasted a sample cookie when the pan was still warm, and I wasn't so sure; but once the pan had cooled and sat for a while, the cookies were perfect. I can imagine using this basic recipe as a springboard for many variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
These are very good. I was craving a blonde brownie with no chocolate and I love oatmeal in baked goods. This recipe fit the bill! I used one stick of unsalted butter and one of margarine and added an entire bag of toffee bits and about 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. I think my pan was a bit bigger than 9x13" so I had trouble spreading the batter. However they did bake almost 40 minutes. I really like the texture and chewiness of the finished product. I will make these again. Coconut will definitely go in them next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I love the suggestion added on to leave out ALL the sweets, I would add the nuts on this new idea and have more of a breakfast bar. This way you can mix up one base recipe, divide it, bake one half for breakfast and then, add all the extra fun sweet ingredients and bake the other half for a dessert or for a treat. I love recipes that can be made in numerous ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Delicious, easy, wonderful! Added 1/2 c. ground almond for a nutty taste. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I added cinnaman and a slash of ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
My double batch just came out of the oven and it's fantastic! I did one batch with a scant cup of unsweetened coconut flakes, craisins, and chopped dry apricots. For the second batch, I substituted 1/2 cup of peanut butter for 1/2 cup of butter and threw in a big dark cholotate bar chopped into chunks. Both are delicious! I highly recommend this recipe! Thanks, Milly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
these were amazing and chewy bars. I added some raisins, mini choc. chips and a little coconut. Had to cook for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This is SO delicious & versatile. If it's too much butter for you, then replace a 1/4 C of butter w/ a 1/4 C of applesauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
These were good, but not as sweet as i expected. They tasted like a healthy oat bar that you would eat for breakfast. Several people in the group really liked them and others thought they needed to be sweeter. I added about a cup and a half of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Not really a brownie (more like a bar) but still very tasty with a cup of coffee. I didn't use any add-ins, just a little cinnamon and it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States