Million Dollar Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I developed a recipe very similar to this after our family fell in love with a mussel dish from Carrabba's restaurant. To dry a variation on the above recipe, substitute dry white wine for the sherry; add about 4 tablespoons of Pernot, substitute fresh basil for the Italian seasoning *double the basil for using fresh*; use fresh or canned chicken broth instead of boullion cubes *too salty IMO*; and add about 2 cups heavy cream. Oh my GOSH will you be in hog heaven over these mussels. The given recipe works up very well, but try the changes if you want to try a creamy version with a slightly different sauce. Katt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I thought these were fabulous! My husband gobbled them up, too! However, I only put 4 stars because I thought it called for way too much sherry, mine tasted just great with half the amt. of what the recipe called for. THanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
My guests loved this recipe - I would definitely try this again, and try with other shellfish, we found the seasonsings perfectly fit the dish. Highly recommend, but bring an appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I felt the sherry was overpowering the dish, so I added low salt chicken broth to try and balance out the flavors. That addition seemed to make all the difference. Good start tho as I do enjoy the taste of sherry. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
these were good substituting the sherry for 1/2 dry white wine, 1/2 low sodium chicken broth. I use way more garlic, but that is a personal preference. I also use basil... so i really didn't follow the original recipe all that much but it is a good start. What we do is when eating is have a cup of melted butter and a cup of old bay seasoning. First, dip in butter, then dip in old bay... then sit back and feel the love... :). can you tell we love our mussels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
These mussels were awesome. My parents always make mussels but I wanted to cook them with a new recipe and this one was perfect. I actually forgot to put in the onion but they were wonderful anyway. I may be making them again for Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gwynn Oak, Maryland, USA
Living In: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I used vegetable broth instead (that's all I had) and I did add about a half cup of heavy cream at the end. We sopped up every last bit with a loaf of Italian bread! I'm going to try using this as a base for a chowder soon, too. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Ok it was a very good recipe to start with but i played with it a little bit. instead of sherry i used Pernod and i didnt use the itailian seasoning i Chiffonade some basil in there and a little more lemon a nd a little more butter. It was tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
this was delicous. easy and quick. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Went over well with the people I made it for. I'm not a sherry drinker, so I cut the sherry with low sodium broth as per a previous comment and that was great. Next round I'll probably add some more garlic, just because you can never have too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States