Million Dollar Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I've never made fudge before and some of the negative reviews had me nervous that it wouldn't turn out. But I followed the ingredients and instructions precisely rather than making any changes on my first attempt and it turned out PERFECTLY. Awesome and creamy. Some said it was too sweet but I think it tastes like fudge is supposed to: SWEET! Thanks for this awesome recipe! I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
WHOA! TONS of sugar in this. I didn't even put in the full amount and it was still way too much. Easy and decent recipe, good flavor but WOW. None of my family could have more than one piece at a time. Less than half of them got eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
There is a MISPRINT in the recipe. It should be 12 Tablespoons butter!!!!! It will be very grainy it you use only 2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
My brother-in-law loves fudge, to the point that it is what he asks for every year for Christmas. I decided to bite the bullet this year and make some for him. This recipe was very easy to follow and he loved it. He said it was the best homemade fudge he had ever eaten - so I think that means it was real good. I wanted to make sure that it was stiff enough to last the car ride to my parent's house on Christmas. I decided that I would follow some of the advice of other reviewers and cook it a little longer. I didn't have a candy thermometer, and I tried to the do the soft ball test, but that wasn't working either, so I just let it cook for about 12 minutes and it turned out perfect - not mushy and not stiff. I also stirred it with my whisk the whole time it cooked and had no problems with consistency. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jettabugfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
it's very tasty, however, it's too soft, even if you refrigerate it for hours, it would feel hard on top but i couldn't even pick it up, we ate it by fork, again,it is very tasty but way too soft.. any advice on what to do? may be i should have greased the pan more, but the softness? I followed the exact recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Over all this recipe was super easy for some one with NO candy experience at all. The texture of the fudge is almost perfect, I just did'nt get the glossiness, it didn't really pour into the pan, I sort of had to push it out, almost like a very soft dough. But it is still delicious. Next time I will use something other than semi-sweet chips, I never liked their flavor and the fudge tastes mainly like them. 5 stars for a well built easy to follow base recipe, less 1 for flavor, could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justina Schneeweis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Great fudge, and practically dummy proof! I made it once as written, and once with peanut butter instead of walnuts. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was really good fudge, very creamy. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This recipe is a keeper!!! This is the first time I've made fudge and it turned out great! I only used 4 cups of sugar, to cut down on the sweetness. It is pretty sweet, but isn't that how fudge is supposed to be? Some people said that it turned out gritty (sugar didn't dissolve). It needs to be cooked slowly UNTIL the sugar dissolves, then brought to a boil before pouring into the chocolate mixture. I kept taste testing it until the sugar was dissolved. One suggestion I have would be to spoon out the marshmellow cream in small amounts to separate it. That would help it melt faster. The chocolate melted very fast for me, but I had to stir and smash the marshmallow cream against the side of the bowl to get it too melt. This fudge is excellent, and I might try it next time with a dark unsweetened chocolate in place of the German. I think you can play around with different types of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This fudge turned out amazing! For my first attempt at fudge I was very impressed! I made sure to completely dissolve the sugar, and there was no graininess whatsoever in the final product. It was extremely smooth and creamy. I think as far as lumpiness goes, make sure the marshmallow creme is from a new jar and isn't old... cause stiff marshmallow doesn't melt so easy and could create lumps. The only thing I changed was that I didn't add nuts. And I threw some rainbow sprinkles on it to make it a little prettier. I love this recipe and am looking forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirltalia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lindon, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States