"Million Dollar" Chinese Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My mom used to make this when I was a kid. It is an awesome salad for either every day or to bring to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Great recipe. Family loved it. Making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I emulsified the dressing so that it wouldn't separate overnight as I knew I'd be using the leftover dressing. Otherwise I followed the directions as written, only I keep the crunchy bits as a topping at the last minute instead of mixing in as we can't eat the whole salad in one sitting. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
We are diabetic and looking for new and different recipes that can be tailored to our diet concerns. I thought that I would try this one. It was great. I did have to make substations of course. Splenda for the sugar and I did not use the raman noodles. I did up the nuts a bit. Hubby loved it and I may add more green onion. Hubby wanted to try some chopped water chestnuts. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I have made this salad many times and it is a family favorite. I cut oil down to 1/3 cup and use a 1/3 cup of Balsalmic vinegar. I add chopped garlic, decrease sugar to 1/4 cup and add 5-6 packets of splenda. This salad can also be made with Romaine lettuce and cranberries instead of cabbage for a little holiday flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
We LOVE this recipe. I have made it many times (the kids keep requesting it). I have busy teenagers in the house and sending out a text stating I have made million dollar salad sends them home for dinner. I make it just as is except for doubling the ramen noodles. I often make it with crispy orange beef (from this site)and vegetable fried rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
My whole family loves it! Here are my modifications: I cut the sugar in 1/2. My kids are not fans of onion so I omit them or put them on the side. For a bit more flavor I like a bit of chopped fresh flat leaf parsley and shredded carrot(2T) which makes this salad even more vibrant looking. A tip I'd like to share is to add about 1/2 tsp. sesame oil. This gives a wonderful flavor. The dressing will emulsify and not seperate once it's cold so chill it and whisk again before pouring on. I like to pour the dressing about 15 minutes before eating or the ramen is too crunchy for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
My family including my 6 year old loved this salad. I replaced onions with crisp iced lettuce, reduced sugar dramatically and used instant cup o' noodles ( which I didn't need to roast as it was very crisp). I loved the Splenda suggestion in some of the reviews will try that next time I make this salad. The best things that I liked about this salad: 1) takes very little time to make 2)is different than usual salads therefore a good change 3) good interplay of crisp and crunchy texture 4) can be a complete main course for weight watchers 5) love the appearance with vibrant colours- extremely appetising 6) a good salad when you're calling people home for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Substituted the almonds with cashews and the cabbage with shredded broccoli/carrots. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I got this very same recipe several years ago and nearly every time I make it someone requests the recipe. This is great stuff! I make ahead of time and store all three parts separately (nappa, ramen noodle mix, and sauce). Transport to family meal and assemble just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States